Beth Krippel's blog

An Author Recommends: George R.R. Martin

Recently, author George R. R. Martin posted "Reading Recommendations" on his blog.  While there are many of these you can find at HCPL, for your convenience, here are a few of his suggestions! 

Of the Classics suggestions:

SF Genre: Steampunk

The progression of Steampunk from fringe subgenre to mainstream has taken a few decades.  You could say it has taken a little over a century if you want to throw in H.G. Wells and Jules Verne, and we really should.  While those two authors are often relegated to the “classics” section of the library, their incorporation of the bizarre, anachronistic engineering, and influence from the possibilities of science put many of their stories clearly in the Steampunk category.

Down the rabbit hole and other adventures

This week’s Amazing Read encouraged us to share a childhood favorite, or have a child share a favorite with an adult.  Of course, there are those stories that bridge both worlds, just as they take us through the looking glass, over the rainbow, second star to the right, or on a leopard.

Ray Bradbury: 1920-2012

Another of the great SF authors has passed away.  Ray Bradbury (August 22, 1920 — June 5, 2012) is the author of SF classics such as Fahrenheit 451, The Martian Chronicles, and

Do you have your towel?

It is May 25th and time to celebrate Towel Day!  Started in 2001, two weeks after the death of author Douglas Adams, this day honors the author of SF classics including The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.  It is that story, and its many other installments, that introduces us to the towel as the "most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have."  Read Chapter 3 of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy to find out why.

Nebula Award Winners

The Nebula Awards® are voted on and presented by the active members of SFWA for outstanding science fiction and fantasy published in 2011.

The full list of winners this year can be found on the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America page.

Novel Winner: Among Others by Jo Walton

 

 

Novel Nominees:

 

Embrace a more magical New Orleans

New Orleans is known for its mystical ways.  Several authors have made it the stomping grounds for their novels.  A new writer has established her urban fantasy in The Crescent City with the first novel in a planned series taking place just as hurricane Katrina hits.  Suzanne Johnson's Royal Street introduces us to a Green Congress mage who goes by DJ.  When the hurricane hits, more than physical structures are broken down -- things are getting loose in the magical world, too.  With her mentor missing, DJ is faced with a new partner and keeping baddies from getting past the barrie

Memory of Light publication date announced

Tor has announced the release date for the final novel in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series.  A Memory of Light will release on January 8, 2013.   The series has been completed by acclaimed writer Brandon Sanderson.  Read more at the Tor.com website.

Anne McCaffrey: 1926-2011

 Anne McCaffrey passed away at the age of 85 on November 21, 2011.  Read her biography here.  I had the honor of meeting her briefly several years ago.  She was a grand dame of Science Fiction and a gutsy lady.  Many of her books are carried by HCPL for any who would like to visit (or revisit) PERN or many of her other wonderful stories. 

Brandon Sanderson in Houston!

Fans of The Mistborn Trilogy, Wheel of Time series, the Stormlight Archive series (book one The Way of Kings), don't miss your chance to meet author Brandon Sanderson who will be at Murder By The Book on November 15 for book signings.  And don't miss out on his latest book set in the Mistborn world three hundred years after the trilogy events, The Alloy of Law.

Syndicate content