Beth Krippel's blog

Ray Bradbury: 1920-2012

Another of the great SF authors has passed away.  Ray Bradbury (August 22, 1920 — June 5, 2012) is the author of SF classics such as Fahrenheit 451, The Martian Chronicles, and

Do you have your towel?

It is May 25th and time to celebrate Towel Day!  Started in 2001, two weeks after the death of author Douglas Adams, this day honors the author of SF classics including The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.  It is that story, and its many other installments, that introduces us to the towel as the "most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have."  Read Chapter 3 of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy to find out why.

Nebula Award Winners

The Nebula Awards® are voted on and presented by the active members of SFWA for outstanding science fiction and fantasy published in 2011.

The full list of winners this year can be found on the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America page.

Novel Winner: Among Others by Jo Walton

 

 

Novel Nominees:

 

Summer Reading is Coming!

FOAL Annual Meeting: May 1 at 7:00 PM

The Friends of the Atascocita Library Annual Meeting will be held Tuesday, May1, at 7:00PM at the Atascocita Library.There will be a short business meeting, which will include election of officers and presentation of the budget for 2012 – 2013. Harris County Precinct 4 Commissioner R. Jack Cagle will be the guest speaker. He has spent more than 20 years working with and serving the citizens of Harris County Precinct 4 as an attorney, as an elected judge and now serving as county commissioner.

Embrace a more magical New Orleans

New Orleans is known for its mystical ways.  Several authors have made it the stomping grounds for their novels.  A new writer has established her urban fantasy in The Crescent City with the first novel in a planned series taking place just as hurricane Katrina hits.  Suzanne Johnson's Royal Street introduces us to a Green Congress mage who goes by DJ.  When the hurricane hits, more than physical structures are broken down -- things are getting loose in the magical world, too.  With her mentor missing, DJ is faced with a new partner and keeping baddies from getting past the barrie

Memory of Light publication date announced

Tor has announced the release date for the final novel in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series.  A Memory of Light will release on January 8, 2013.   The series has been completed by acclaimed writer Brandon Sanderson.  Read more at the Tor.com website.

Atascocita Lunch 'n' Lit

February 9, 2012 at 1:00 PM, join the Atascocita book  club, Lunch 'n' Lit, to discuss Bill Bryson's At Home: a short history of private life.  Bring your lunch and enjoy lunching with literature!

Anne McCaffrey: 1926-2011

 Anne McCaffrey passed away at the age of 85 on November 21, 2011.  Read her biography here.  I had the honor of meeting her briefly several years ago.  She was a grand dame of Science Fiction and a gutsy lady.  Many of her books are carried by HCPL for any who would like to visit (or revisit) PERN or many of her other wonderful stories. 

Brandon Sanderson in Houston!

Fans of The Mistborn Trilogy, Wheel of Time series, the Stormlight Archive series (book one The Way of Kings), don't miss your chance to meet author Brandon Sanderson who will be at Murder By The Book on November 15 for book signings.  And don't miss out on his latest book set in the Mistborn world three hundred years after the trilogy events, The Alloy of Law.

Syndicate content