Beth Krippel's blog

Nebula Award Winners

The Nebula Awards® are voted on and presented by the active members of SFWA for outstanding science fiction and fantasy published in 2011.

The full list of winners this year can be found on the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America page.

Novel Winner: Among Others by Jo Walton

 

 

Novel Nominees:

 

Embrace a more magical New Orleans

New Orleans is known for its mystical ways.  Several authors have made it the stomping grounds for their novels.  A new writer has established her urban fantasy in The Crescent City with the first novel in a planned series taking place just as hurricane Katrina hits.  Suzanne Johnson's Royal Street introduces us to a Green Congress mage who goes by DJ.  When the hurricane hits, more than physical structures are broken down -- things are getting loose in the magical world, too.  With her mentor missing, DJ is faced with a new partner and keeping baddies from getting past the barrie

Memory of Light publication date announced

Tor has announced the release date for the final novel in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series.  A Memory of Light will release on January 8, 2013.   The series has been completed by acclaimed writer Brandon Sanderson.  Read more at the Tor.com website.

Anne McCaffrey: 1926-2011

 Anne McCaffrey passed away at the age of 85 on November 21, 2011.  Read her biography here.  I had the honor of meeting her briefly several years ago.  She was a grand dame of Science Fiction and a gutsy lady.  Many of her books are carried by HCPL for any who would like to visit (or revisit) PERN or many of her other wonderful stories. 

Brandon Sanderson in Houston!

Fans of The Mistborn Trilogy, Wheel of Time series, the Stormlight Archive series (book one The Way of Kings), don't miss your chance to meet author Brandon Sanderson who will be at Murder By The Book on November 15 for book signings.  And don't miss out on his latest book set in the Mistborn world three hundred years after the trilogy events, The Alloy of Law.

Star Trek 45th Anniversary

On September 8, 1966, the first episode of Star Trek aired on NBC.  It ran for three seasons, but from boldly going where no television had gone before, came a franchise that has endured decades.  It also has a healthy collection of books that further explore the lives of the characters from all Star Trek series.  If you're looking for a new adventure, trek on over to the library and pick up a few Star Trek titles.

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees Announced

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees have been announced.  The nominations are gathered from attendees to the convention, and then voted on by a panel of judges.  Best Novel nominees are:

Check Out NPR Poll: Best SF Books

National Public Radio (NPR) is running a poll over the next few weeks in order to create a list of the top 100 SF/F titles ever written.  Go to their post here to read their guidelines and add your top five!

My top five?

Reprise of Speculative Fiction

Recently the Wall Street Journal pointed out it was The Season of the Supernatural.  In the article, they talk about the rise of literature that blends supernatural with realism, and that it may once again become the predominant literary style. 

The Doorstoppers

I'm not advocating the use of books as doorstops or following the design trend of using them for table legs. Unless, I suppose, that you're a fan of the game Jenga®, and you are willing to shift some of these hefty tomes around when you want to revisit a favorite.

Syndicate content