Beth Krippel's blog

Brandon Sanderson in Houston!

Fans of The Mistborn Trilogy, Wheel of Time series, the Stormlight Archive series (book one The Way of Kings), don't miss your chance to meet author Brandon Sanderson who will be at Murder By The Book on November 15 for book signings.  And don't miss out on his latest book set in the Mistborn world three hundred years after the trilogy events, The Alloy of Law.

Star Trek 45th Anniversary

On September 8, 1966, the first episode of Star Trek aired on NBC.  It ran for three seasons, but from boldly going where no television had gone before, came a franchise that has endured decades.  It also has a healthy collection of books that further explore the lives of the characters from all Star Trek series.  If you're looking for a new adventure, trek on over to the library and pick up a few Star Trek titles.

Picture It: Teen Art Show

(c) eqqman via FlickrOn Thursday, October 20 at 6:00 PM, Atascocita Branch Library will present Picture It: Teen Art Show.  We welcome entries of artwork done by teens in traditional media, photography, digital art, 3-D art, and zines.  The rules for art show submissions are:

1. Two dimensional artwork must be no larger than 36”x36” and must be matted or framed. Sculpture or other three dimensional media must be no larger than 3’x3’x3’.

2. Participants must be between the ages of 12-18 years.

FOAL Book Sale, September 24

Friends of Atascocita Library (FOAL) is having a Book Sale this Saturday, September 24, from 10 AM until 5 PM.  Memberships are available at the door if you wish to participate in the preview sale for FOAL members only on Friday, September 23, from 5 PM - 7 PM.  For more information, email contact@foal.ws and to learn more about FOAL visit the website www.foal.ws .

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees Announced

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees have been announced.  The nominations are gathered from attendees to the convention, and then voted on by a panel of judges.  Best Novel nominees are:

Check Out NPR Poll: Best SF Books

National Public Radio (NPR) is running a poll over the next few weeks in order to create a list of the top 100 SF/F titles ever written.  Go to their post here to read their guidelines and add your top five!

My top five?

Atascocita Lunch 'n' Lit Book Club, June 9, 1:00 PM

Join us on Thursday, June 9 at 1:00 PM, as we discuss a good book and feel free to bring your lunch! This month's book will be Stumbling On Happiness by Daniel Gilbert. 

Reprise of Speculative Fiction

Recently the Wall Street Journal pointed out it was The Season of the Supernatural.  In the article, they talk about the rise of literature that blends supernatural with realism, and that it may once again become the predominant literary style. 

Syndicate content