Betsy A.'s blog

Gulf Coast Reads Book Discussion

Book Jacket of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close9/11 is an appropriate day to write about the book Ex...

Events for Gulf Coast Reads

Cover Art for book Extremely Loud and Incredibly close by Jonathan Safron FoerGulf Coast Reads: On the Same Page is an annual program that encourages those who live along the upper Gulf Coast to read or listen to the same book and have discussions about it. The selection for this year is Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by

Civility and the School Year

Book Jacket for The How Rude! Handbook of School Manners for Teens...The beginning of the school year is a good time to remind ourselves of the art of civility, or treating each other with courtesy and politeness. Some books that may be helpful:

Main Street Morning Brew

Clipart of coffee cup from Jupterimages CorporationAll La Porte business and property owners are welcome to attend a Main Street Morning Brew presentation on Marketing in the 21st Century that will be held on Wednesday, August 29, 2012, 8:30 – 9:30 a.m. at Becky’s Ceramics Studio, 100 West Main Street, La Porte. This program is provided free of charge by the City of La Porte and will show “how technology and social media can help you reach your key customers and stay connected with them on a regular basis.” Cof...

Focus on Nora Roberts

Photograph of Book Display of Nora Roberts' Read-AlikesOn the opposite side of the Nicholas Sparks display described previously we have a display of books that have similarities to Nora Roberts. If you like the writing of Nora Roberts, you may like to try Elizabeth Adler,

Read-alikes for Nicholas Sparks

Photograph of Book Display with Nicholas Sparks ReadalikesThe Book Display in Adult Fiction is featuring authors whose books have similar elements to the writing of Nicholas Sparks, such as Luanne Rice, Richard Paul Evans, Karen Kingsbury, and

Teen Event: Summer Games

Clipart of Olympic Torch from JupiterImagesLet the games begin as we end the 2012 Texas Teens Read Program. All materials provided. Ages 10-17. Wednesday, August 1, 3 pm – 4:30 pm. Registration required. 281-471-4022.
Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.
 

...

Humming Toy Craft

Clipart picture of yo-yo that kind of looks like a humming toy from JupiterImagesDecorate an Indian humming toy craft! This program is recommended for school-age children. No registration is required. Tuesday, July 24 at 2 p.m.

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.

...

Teen Craft: Decoupage Clay Pots

Clipart of clay flower pot from Jupiterimages.Decoupage your own design on a terra cotta pot. Ages 10-17. Wednesday, July 18, 3 pm – 4 pm.
All materials provided. Registration required. Call 281-471-4022.

Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation
 

...

Teen Event: Nature CSI

Clipart picture of owl from JupterimagesInvestigate owls and their prey in this interactive nature program. All materials provided. Wednesday, July 11, 3 pm – 4 pm. Ages 10-17. Registration required. Call 281-471-4022.


Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.
 

...
Syndicate content