Betsy A.'s blog

Events for Gulf Coast Reads

Cover Art for book Extremely Loud and Incredibly close by Jonathan Safron FoerGulf Coast Reads: On the Same Page is an annual program that encourages those who live along the upper Gulf Coast to read or listen to the same book and have discussions about it. The selection for this year is Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. There are two events scheduled at La Porte Community Library related to Gulf Coast Reads: On Monday, October 8, from 6-8:15 p.m. we will show a movie related to the book. The movie is rated PG-13. Then on Wednesday, October 17, from 10-30-11:30 a.m. we will have a book discussion, also in the Meeting Room. Both events are free; registration is not required. 

Civility and the School Year

Book Jacket for The How Rude! Handbook of School Manners for Teens...The beginning of the school year is a good time to remind ourselves of the art of civility, or treating each other with courtesy and politeness. Some books that may be helpful: The How Rude! Handbook of School Manners for Teens: Civility in the Hallowed Halls by Alex J. Packer; George-isms: the 110 Rules George Washington Wrote When He Was 14 and Lived By All His Life by George Washington; The Respectful School [eBook]: How Educators and Students Can Conquer Hate and Harassment by Stephen L. Wessler with Contributing Author William Preble; and Choosing Civility: the Twenty-Five Rules of Considerate Conduct by P. M. Forni. We wish all students, teachers, administrators, and parents a very successful 2012-2013 school year!

Main Street Morning Brew

Clipart of coffee cup from Jupterimages CorporationAll La Porte business and property owners are welcome to attend a Main Street Morning Brew presentation on Marketing in the 21st Century that will be held on Wednesday, August 29, 2012, 8:30 – 9:30 a.m. at Becky’s Ceramics Studio, 100 West Main Street, La Porte. This program is provided free of charge by the City of La Porte and will show “how technology and social media can help you reach your key customers and stay connected with them on a regular basis.” Coffee and light refreshments will be served. For more information, call 281-470-5017 or email osbornes@laportetx.gov.

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation. 

Focus on Nora Roberts

Photograph of Book Display of Nora Roberts' Read-AlikesOn the opposite side of the Nicholas Sparks display described previously we have a display of books that have similarities to Nora Roberts. If you like the writing of Nora Roberts, you may like to try Elizabeth Adler, Lisa Gardner, Kay Hooper, Linda Howard, Iris Johansen, Jayne Ann Krentz, Karen Robards, or Katherine Stone.

Read-alikes for Nicholas Sparks

Photograph of Book Display with Nicholas Sparks ReadalikesThe Book Display in Adult Fiction is featuring authors whose books have similar elements to the writing of Nicholas Sparks, such as Luanne Rice, Richard Paul Evans, Karen Kingsbury, and Jeffrey Stepakoff. If you like Nicholas Sparks, you may also like these other authors.

Teen Event: Summer Games

Clipart of Olympic Torch from JupiterImagesLet the games begin as we end the 2012 Texas Teens Read Program. All materials provided. Ages 10-17. Wednesday, August 1, 3 pm – 4:30 pm. Registration required. 281-471-4022.
Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.
 

Humming Toy Craft

Clipart picture of yo-yo that kind of looks like a humming toy from JupiterImagesDecorate an Indian humming toy craft! This program is recommended for school-age children. No registration is required. Tuesday, July 24 at 2 p.m.

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.

Teen Craft: Decoupage Clay Pots

Clipart of clay flower pot from Jupiterimages.Decoupage your own design on a terra cotta pot. Ages 10-17. Wednesday, July 18, 3 pm – 4 pm.
All materials provided. Registration required. Call 281-471-4022.

Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation
 

Teen Event: Nature CSI

Clipart picture of owl from JupterimagesInvestigate owls and their prey in this interactive nature program. All materials provided. Wednesday, July 11, 3 pm – 4 pm. Ages 10-17. Registration required. Call 281-471-4022.


Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.
 

Dinosaurs Roam the Library

Photography of Dinosaur Display taken by David NovosadDinosaurs are roaming the earth once more, this time at La Porte Community Library. Come see our dinosaur display during the month of July, and check out books on dinosaurs. The display is brought to us by Zachary Cantu. Thank you, Zachary!

Syndicate content