Betsy A.'s blog

Read-alikes for Nicholas Sparks

Photograph of Book Display with Nicholas Sparks ReadalikesThe Book Display in Adult Fiction is featuring authors whose books have similar elements to the writing of Nicholas Sparks, such as Luanne Rice, Richard Paul Evans, Karen Kingsbury, and Jeffrey Stepakoff. If you like Nicholas Sparks, you may also like these other authors.

Teen Event: Summer Games

Clipart of Olympic Torch from JupiterImagesLet the games begin as we end the 2012 Texas Teens Read Program. All materials provided. Ages 10-17. Wednesday, August 1, 3 pm – 4:30 pm. Registration required. 281-471-4022.
Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.
 

Humming Toy Craft

Clipart picture of yo-yo that kind of looks like a humming toy from JupiterImagesDecorate an Indian humming toy craft! This program is recommended for school-age children. No registration is required. Tuesday, July 24 at 2 p.m.

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.

Teen Craft: Decoupage Clay Pots

Clipart of clay flower pot from Jupiterimages.Decoupage your own design on a terra cotta pot. Ages 10-17. Wednesday, July 18, 3 pm – 4 pm.
All materials provided. Registration required. Call 281-471-4022.

Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation
 

Teen Event: Nature CSI

Clipart picture of owl from JupterimagesInvestigate owls and their prey in this interactive nature program. All materials provided. Wednesday, July 11, 3 pm – 4 pm. Ages 10-17. Registration required. Call 281-471-4022.


Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.
 

Dinosaurs Roam the Library

Photography of Dinosaur Display taken by David NovosadDinosaurs are roaming the earth once more, this time at La Porte Community Library. Come see our dinosaur display during the month of July, and check out books on dinosaurs. The display is brought to us by Zachary Cantu. Thank you, Zachary!

Teen Craft: Polymer Clay Minis

Clipart of lady holding miniature house from Jupiterimages Create and design your own miniature clay objects.  All materials provided. Wednesday, June 27, 3:00 to 4:30 p.m. Ages 10-17. Registration required. Call 281-471-4022.

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation. 

 

Beat the Heat Teen Movie

Clipart from Jupiterimages of a bag of popcornGet a break from the heat while watching a movie and having some popcorn. The movie will be at 3 pm on Wednesday, June 20, and will be in the Library meeting room. Film title to be announced. 

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation. 

Teen Craft: Summertime Stain-a-Frame

Clipart picture of stained glass from Jupiterimages Corporation.Decorate a beautiful frame that looks like stained glass. All materials provided. Ages 10-17.
Registration required. Call 281-471-4022.

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.
 

Teen Event: Gaming Arcade

Clipart from Jupiterimages of two boys playing a video game.The Teen Summer Reading Program starts out with a favorite: the Gaming Arcade! Come and test out the latest gaming technology and try out some games from the past. Wednesday, June 6 at 3 p.m. Ages 10 and up. 

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation.
 

Syndicate content