Charity James's blog

Ready, Set, Grow!

So go ahead and get planting! Technically it is spring; all the stores are selling soil and seeds and baby plants. Here are just some of the books just for kids to help you get your garden started.

for fans of I Survived

If you're a fan of Lauren Tarshis' I Survived series, here are some other historical/disaster-y adventures for you:

You choose interactive History adventures

Are you pronouncing it correctly?

Lincoln Peirce, the author of Big Nate, was on the Today show a couple weeks ago., and I learned something – his (last) name is pronounced “purse”.

Books celebrate 50th birthday!

2014 is the year for three classic children's books' birthdays.


*Sam* and *Benny* books author wins prize!

Swedish author Barbro Lindgren has won the 2014 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, the largest award for children’s literature with a prize of five million Swedish crowns. (This is about $774,000.) 


Picture books are for big kids, too

In case you haven't heard, Ten Rules You must absolutely not break if you want to survive the school bus by John Grandits is the newest winner of the Texas Bluebonnet Award. 

Some school librarians around Texas, for some reason, were not too happy with this. Apparently, they thought one of the chapter books should have won. Of course, they weren't voting, were they? I am thinking that maybe those disgruntled librarians are a member of that group of grown-ups who think that picture books are only for little kids.  

I say "phooey"! Some of my favorite books are picture books, and I am a grown-up.

Scott O'Dell Award winner

So while we wait for the announcement of the Bluebonnet Award, let's take a look at the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction, which goes annually to the author of a distinguished work of historical fiction for young people published by a U. S. publisher and set in the Americas.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given every year (since 2006) to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the best beginning reader book published in the United States during the preceding year.

This year's winner is The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli.

Honor books are:

Syndicate content