David Cherry's blog

Book Hunters in Brief #19: Steampunk Romance Series

http://www.hcpl.net/content/book-hunters-brief-19-steampunk-romance-seriesSteampunk Romance graphicThis week, Book Hunters turn their attention to a relatively new subgenre: a mashup of steampunk and the ever-popular historical romance.
The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook
A Conspiracy of Alchemists by Liesel Schwarz
Steam & Sorcery by Cindy Spencer Pape
The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

Book Hunters in Brief #17 - Game of Thrones

Book Hunters in Brief Game of Thrones GraphicIf you love Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, HCPL’s Book Hunters recommend:
The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles) by Patrick Rothfuss
Why? Epic fantasy fiction with good character development, magic and battles.

LightsOut Houston 2014

Harris County Commissioners Court has authorized County Facilities and Property Management to lead a county-wide effort, in conjunction with the City of Houston, the Greater Houston Partnership and Central Houston Inc. for LightsOut Houston.

Coinciding with Earth Week,, LightsOut Houston runs from the evening of Thursday, April 24 through Sunday, April 27. The initiative seeks to encourage energy efficiency by obtaining a commitment from building owners, operators and tenants to turn off all non-essential lights.

Book Hunters in Brief: Memoirs by Comedians

Side-splitting Memoirs! Comedians tell all! 

Bossypants by Tina Fey 
Born Standing Up by Steve Martin 
Seriously...I'm Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres 
Dad Is Fat by Jim Gaffigan 
Still Foolin' "Em by Billy Crystal 

These folks are funny in any format, but to get the deluxe high definition experience, we suggest the audiobooks read by the authors themselves.

In the mood for something a little more serious? Visit Book Hunters and we'll whip up a reading list just for you. It's fast. It's easy. It's free. Do it. Do it now.

New Arrivals for National Poetry Month 2014

Nat'lPoMo Poster 2014It is perhaps no accident that National Poetry Month always begins on April Fools’ Day. Poetry is a foolish thing. It, more than prose in all its various forms, assumes it can draw a bead on, and ultimately make some kind of meaning (no matter how fleeting) from the messy and provisional stuff that is life in the 21st century. It is foolish because for nearly everyone but poets themselves, it has become an object of derision, and worse—indifference.

Yet, the world continues to spawn poets. Why? Because, I think, human beings, when you look at them in their best possible light, are fundamentally seekers. We are all looking for something with a big, amorphous name: grace, salvation, contentment, etc. --in short, we are looking for answers to questions we can't even quite formulate.

Book Hunters in Brief: Divergent

Book Hunters in Brief: DivergentYou loved Divergent by Veronica Roth. HCPL’s award-winning Book Hunters recommend these titles:
Blood Red Road by Moira Young. Why? Because if Saba lived in the world of Divergent, she would definitely be Dauntless.

Book Hunters in Brief: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Book Hunters Graphic: Diary of a Wimpy KidIf you’re a fan of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, Harris County Public Library’s Book Hunters recommend:

Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce.
Why? This is also a hybrid of text and comics featuring a middle school student.

Volunteer ESL Tutors Needed! Training Sessions March 21 & 29

There are a lot of very good reasons to become a volunteer English as a second language tutor at Harris County Public Library. One of the best is that with a small investment of your time each week you can make a huge difference in one of your neighbors' lives--and no experience is necessary. On March 21 and 29, HCPL is offering free training sessions that will give you all the tools you'll need. 

To register for one of the training sessions below, or for more information, please call the library, or call or email the literacy coordinator at 713-749-9035.

Book Hunters in Brief: Hyperbole and a Half

in Brief - Hyperbole and a HalfIf you loved Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half, then Harris County Public Library’s Book Hunters think you’ll dig these titles too:

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson—star-blogger Lawson shares her mortifying and hilarious moments.

Epileptic by David B.— this graphic novel depicts the story of a boy and his family coping with his brother’s epilepsy.

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley—a comic artist comes of age sharing her love of food.

My Dog: The Paradox by Matthew Inman— for fans of Simple Dog and Helper Dog.

None of these float your boat? Visit Book Hunters and we’ll find you some great reads of your very own.

 

Book Hunters in Brief: The Monuments Men

Book Hunters in Brief - Monuments MenIf you loved the book and movie, The Monuments Men, then we think you ought to take a look at these:

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman 
Zookeepers in Nazi-occupied Warsaw use their unique position to move Jewish citizens to safety in empty animal cages.

Thieves of Baghdad: One Marine’s Passion for Ancient Civilizations and the Journey to Recover the World’s Greatest Stolen Treasures by Matthew Bogdanos
Bogdanos tells the tale of marines on missions very similar to the work of the Monuments Men, this time in modern-day Iraq.

The Forger’s Spell: A True Story of Vermeer, Nazis, and the Greatest Art Hoax of the Twentieth Century by Edward Dolnick
A mediocre artist in Nazi-occupied Holland makes his living selling Vermeer forgeries to the enemy.

The Soldier Spies by W.E.B. Griffin
A scientist who is an expert on jet aircraft must be smuggled out of Germany before the Nazis can get to him.

If these aren’t your cup of tea, visit Book Hunters, answer a few questions, and within a couple weeks you’ll have a customized reading list in your email inbox.

Syndicate content