Graphic Novels

Children's Area Changes!

   We are in the beginning phases of a complete Children’s Area overhaul.  Similar to Spring cleaning your house - this type of "cleaning" will be done Library style!   What that means is a shift in the collection, new programming being added and current programming being re-vamped!
One of the most obvious changes to the collection is the location of the Graphic Novels.  They have been moved from the far corner of the children’s area to the shelving unit directly to the left of the Children’s Activity Room.  The Juv. Ref, Country and State books have been shifted down one shelving unit and the current Blue Bonnet books can now be found on the top of the magazine section.
So, bear with us as the changes evolve – we’ll keep you posted as they happen!

Book Hunters In Brief #130: Comics & Graphic Novels for Comicpalooza

If you're going to Comicpalooza this weekend, stop by and say hello to the HCPL crew. We'll have our 3D printers and other cool maker machines fired up, and, of course, we're always ready to geek out on comics, graphic novels and all nature of fandom.

DC Comics Come to Hoopla!

This summer, libraries across the country, including Harris County Public Library, have been celebrating heroes and their stories. Now, Hoopla, our free streaming movie, music and more service, has added DC and Vertigo Comics to its collection, giving you digital access to some of your favorite superheroes--Batman, Wonder Woman, and The Flash to name just a few. With Hoopla's free app and your HCPL library card, you can download great graphic novels straight to your PC, tablet or smartphone: The Dark Knight Returns, Neil Gaiman's Sandman and the Fables series. Younger readers will find My Little Pony, Madagascar's Penguins, and Tiny Titans, among many others.

As with all of Hoopla's content, you never have to wait copy to become available. You get instant access 24/7.

New Graphic Novel Finds

Chew vol 1

A comic for food lovers, or maybe not…

 

Book Hunters in Brief: Hyperbole and a Half

in Brief - Hyperbole and a HalfIf you loved Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half, then Harris County Public Library’s Book Hunters think you’ll dig these titles too:

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson—star-blogger Lawson shares her mortifying and hilarious moments.

Epileptic by David B.— this graphic novel depicts the story of a boy and his family coping with his brother’s epilepsy.

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley—a comic artist comes of age sharing her love of food.

My Dog: The Paradox by Matthew Inman— for fans of Simple Dog and Helper Dog.

None of these float your boat? Visit Book Hunters and we’ll find you some great reads of your very own.

 

Get Your Manga Fix Online @ HCPL

With temperatures reaching 100 degrees this weekend, the last thing you want to do is get out of the house and make a trek to your local library. So what's an otaku to do when you have a manga craving? Boot up your computer and head over to HCPL's Digital Media Catalog to check out our new downloadable line of manga and graphic novels.

So, how can you start downloading manga today?

 

Take Me to Your Reader

Take me to your readerScience Fiction Graphic Novels

Adventure to and Fantastic (and Colorful) New Worlds!

Adventure to New Worlds
You have nothing to lose but your boredom. 

Syndicate content