Graphic Novels

New Graphic Novel Finds

Chew vol 1

A comic for food lovers, or maybe not…

 

TEENS: Celebrate FREE COMIC BOOK DAY!!

FCBDKingwood Teens – stop by the Teen Area Saturday, May 3rd anytime to pick up a FREE COMIC BOOK and participate in a special one day only Button Battle:  Marvel vs.

Book Hunters in Brief: Hyperbole and a Half

in Brief - Hyperbole and a HalfIf you loved Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half, then Harris County Public Library’s Book Hunters think you’ll dig these titles too:

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson—star-blogger Lawson shares her mortifying and hilarious moments.

Epileptic by David B.— this graphic novel depicts the story of a boy and his family coping with his brother’s epilepsy.

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley—a comic artist comes of age sharing her love of food.

My Dog: The Paradox by Matthew Inman— for fans of Simple Dog and Helper Dog.

None of these float your boat? Visit Book Hunters and we’ll find you some great reads of your very own.

 

Picture It!: Teen Read Week Events

From art to zines, you can celebrate Teen Read Week next week at the Atascocita Branch Library! On Monday, October 17th at 4:30pm get graphic with our Graphic Novel Book Club. Bring your favorite manga, superhero or graphic novels to the meeting so you can share them with the group.

Want to create your own publication and trade it with people all over the world? Learn about the wonderful world of zines at Zine Scene on Wednesday, October 19th at 4:30pm. Help contribute to our very first library zine.

Get Your Manga Fix Online @ HCPL

With temperatures reaching 100 degrees this weekend, the last thing you want to do is get out of the house and make a trek to your local library. So what's an otaku to do when you have a manga craving? Boot up your computer and head over to HCPL's Digital Media Catalog to check out our new downloadable line of manga and graphic novels.

So, how can you start downloading manga today?

 

Take Me to Your Reader

Take me to your readerScience Fiction Graphic Novels

Adventure to and Fantastic (and Colorful) New Worlds!

Adventure to New Worlds
You have nothing to lose but your boredom. 

Young Adult Area Expands

Come in and check out our expanded Young Adult area. We have added shelving in our teen area to make room for more books, to make our graphic novels easier to browse, and to provide display space. You can now find the Young Adult Graphic Novels on their own shelves leading into the Teen Zone.

The Revolution Will Not Be Televised

Lately I've read several books that describe revolutions - whether attempts to replace established governments, like in the American or French Revolutions, or cultural revolutions, such as those that took place in China or Iran.  If you're also interested in learning about historical revolutions, you might check out:

Syndicate content