Memoir

Maya Angelou 1928 - 2014

Maya Angelou was a memoirist, poet, and activist, but more significantly, she was a keen, measured public voice of a kind that is increasingly rare in this ever widening, ever more shallow puddle that is early 21st century American culture. That she became the iconic figure and social force she was is all the more remarkable when one thinks of the place and time from which she rose.

Book Hunters in Brief: Hyperbole and a Half

in Brief - Hyperbole and a HalfIf you loved Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half, then Harris County Public Library’s Book Hunters think you’ll dig these titles too:

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson—star-blogger Lawson shares her mortifying and hilarious moments.

Epileptic by David B.— this graphic novel depicts the story of a boy and his family coping with his brother’s epilepsy.

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley—a comic artist comes of age sharing her love of food.

My Dog: The Paradox by Matthew Inman— for fans of Simple Dog and Helper Dog.

None of these float your boat? Visit Book Hunters and we’ll find you some great reads of your very own.

 

Great Reads of 2013

At the end of the year I always scrabble to catch up with all the interesting titles I missed.  I've been looking through the New York Times list of 100 Notable Books from 2013, and I've included a few I'm glad to be reminded of. 

The Art of Selling Books

Larry McMurtry, prolific author and Pulitzer Prize winner who is best known for classics like Lonesome Dove, The Last Picture Show, and Terms of Endearment also sells books in his hometown of

Life as an Open Book: Memoirs by (and about) Poets

Photo Credit: Underwood by dvs/Doug ShickWriters as a species might be the most abject creatures ever to slink down a blind alley of evolution, but for that anomalous little glitch in our programming that demands that we be heard--that claims not just a voice but a voice made concrete--set in type, if not necessarily in stone.

Syndicate content