readalikes

Book Hunters in Brief #25: Family Listening

book hunters - family listening graphicGoing on a road trip this summer? Book Hunters suggests you bring along one of these outstanding audiobooks that the whole family will love.

Book Hunters in Brief #22: Mortal Instruments

In Brief 22 graphicIf you're on pins and needles waiting for the final book of the Mortal Instruments series, try these titles to take the edge off.

Book Hunters in Brief #21: New Titles for Asian Pacific Heritage Month

Book Hunters in Brief #21 - APHMThis week, Book Hunters look at new titles in honor of Asian Pacific Heritage Month.

Mambo in Chinatown by Jean Kwok
On Such a Full Sea by Chang-Rae Lee 
Pioneer Girl by Bich Minh Nguyen 
The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide 
Family Life by Akhil Sharma

Visit Book Hunters for a customized reading list of your own.

Book Hunters in Brief #20: Batman Turns 75

Book Hunters in Brief #20: BatmanWhen citizens of Gotham need saving (yet again), who do they call? That’s right. They still dial up The Caped Crusader who, even at 75, kicks bad guy backside like no one else. Read these…now:

Batman: The Complete History by Les Daniels 

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller 

Book Hunters in Brief: Divergent

Book Hunters in Brief: DivergentYou loved Divergent by Veronica Roth. HCPL’s award-winning Book Hunters recommend these titles:
Blood Red Road by Moira Young. Why? Because if Saba lived in the world of Divergent, she would definitely be Dauntless.

Book Hunters in Brief: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Book Hunters Graphic: Diary of a Wimpy KidIf you’re a fan of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, Harris County Public Library’s Book Hunters recommend:

Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce.
Why? This is also a hybrid of text and comics featuring a middle school student.

Book Hunters in Brief: James McBride's Good Lord Bird

BH in Brief 10 - Good Lord BirdIf you loved James McBride's NBA-winning Good Lord Bird, we recommend these:

Cloudsplitter by Russell Banks - Another fictional approach to John Brown narrated by his young son.

Beloved by Toni Morrison - a modern classic about a haunted former slave

Midnight Rising by Tony Horwitz - a gripping nonfiction account of the raid on Harper's Ferry

Middle Passage by Charles Johnson - A young man is transformed after becoming an accidental stowaway on a slave ship.

Kids Titles - Try Something New

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: the Third WheelHas your kid read every Diary of a Wimpy Kid or Percy Jackson and the Olympians title?  Worse yet, is he or she on a long waiting list for the next one?  If your child is chomping at the bit waiting for the next “must read” title out there, why not take the opportunity to discover a new author or series you haven’t tried before?

While You're Waiting . . .

 

Still on the request list for ‘The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest’ or ‘The Help’?  Or did you already read and really enjoy them?  Then check out our Bestseller Readalikes display at the Maud Marks Branch Library!  We update this popular display according to the top twenty books on the New York Times Bestseller list.  Stop by and take a look!

  

Waiting for a Bestseller?

Are you #665 on the waiting list for the latest bestseller? Think of it as an opportunity to introduce yourself to a book or, if you’re really lucky, an entire series you haven’t tried before.
Syndicate content