readalikes

Book Hunters in Brief #53: The Hobbit

So the much anticipated premier of the third installment of the Hobbit movie trilogy has come and gone and left you wandering in circles. Book Hunters have some reading suggestions that may just get you back on track. 

Book Hunters in Brief #48: The Hunger Games

As fictional heroines go, Katniss Everdeen is as tough, smart and resilient as they come. No doubt about it. But there are plenty of other heinie-kicking heroines out there, just as Panem isn't the only chillingly dystopian society in the YA aisle. This week, in honor of the coming premiere of Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1,  (November 21) Book Hunters offers a few Hunger Games readalikes for when you're hankering for some more savory reads.

Book Hunters in Brief # 47: Rick Riordan Readalikes

If you or someone you know is a fan of Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson series and have read and reread every book, then you're probably looking for something new to fill that space till the next installment. Here cones Book Hunters to the rescue!

The Invisible Tower by Nils Johnson-Shelton
Loki's Wolves by K.L. Armstrong and M.A. Marr
D'Aulaire's Book of Greek Myths by Ingri and Edgar D'Aulaire
Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis
The Forbidden Stone by Tony Abbott
Gods of Manhattan by Scott Mebus

You say you prefer to read about the demimonde while drinking a demitasse of espresso to reading about demigods?

Book Hunters in Brief #41: Gone Girl

BHiB #41Gillian Flynn's blockbuster novel has been adapted for the screen (for good or ill) and the movie, starring Ben Afleck and Rosamund Pike, opens next Friday, October 3. Whether you plan to see it or not, Book Hunters think you'll enjoy these readalikes.

Book Hunters in Brief #38: Are You Ready for Some Football?!

Book Hunters FootballWe don't know about you, but this weekend we plan on gorging on some football--along with a heap of seven-layer dip, pork rinds, buffalo wings, and just about anything else we don't have to leave the couch to eat.

Book Hunters in Brief #37: Back to School

BHinB #37 GraphicHear that? That’s the sound of a jillion school kids—from kindergarten to college—sighing. It's back to school time again. Book Hunters can’t do anything about that, but we can suggest these books so at least you don’t feel alone in your pain.

Book Hunters in Brief #33: Awkward Protagonists

Book Hunters in Brief GraphicFor all of you who geek out on the geeks of The Big Bang Theory, the Book Hunters have some reading suggestions that feature some awe-inspiringly awkward protagonists, we think you’ll love.

Book Hunters in Brief #32: Warriors

Book Hunters in Brief GraphicErin Hunter’s Warriors series is great, but there are, unfortunately, a finite number of installments, so sooner or later, you catch up to the author.

Book Hunters in Brief #25: Family Listening

book hunters - family listening graphicGoing on a road trip this summer? Book Hunters suggests you bring along one of these outstanding audiobooks that the whole family will love.

Book Hunters in Brief #22: Mortal Instruments

In Brief 22 graphicIf you're on pins and needles waiting for the final book of the Mortal Instruments series, try these titles to take the edge off.

Syndicate content