Home School StuffSurf the NetAbout the LibraryKids Catalog
Fun and GamesKids ReadParents and TeachersHoustonHome

Book Reviews

Write a Book Review | Search Book Reviews
Limit Results by Genre:
<< Previous Next >>

Civil War on Sunday, by Mary Pope Osborne

This was not my favorite Magic Tree House book because the war was a little scary. I don't mind castles and things, but the war was scary.
Rating:
Reviewed by Gabriel , age 6, from West University on Thu. Jun 27, 2013

Dingoes at Dinnertime, by Mary Pope Osborne
Genre: Fiction

I like this book because of the surprise about Teddy, the dog.
Rating:
Reviewed by Gabriel , age 6, from West University on Thu. Jun 27, 2013

The Adventures of Captain Underpants, by Dav Pilkey
Genre: Fiction

It was awesome and fun!
Rating:
Reviewed by RENZO , age 7, from Cy-Fair on Tue. Jun 18, 2013

Blue, by Rebecca Rissman
Genre: Picture Book

Colors all around us.
Rating: none
Reviewed by Isabella S. , age 6, from Aldine on Tue. Jun 18, 2013

The Cabin Faced West, by Jean Fritz
Genre: Fiction

Jean Fritz "The Cabin Faced West" is a good book if you like historical fiction about Colonial America. The story takes place in 1784 in Pennsylvania and it centers around the Hamilton family. The family has moved from the city of Gettysburg, away from the friends and into the western frontier of Pennsylvania.
Rating: none
Reviewed by Samantha , age 11, from South Houston on Thu. May 23, 2013

Jean and Johnny, by Beverly Cleary
Genre: Fiction

The best book I have ever read on romance so far.
Rating:
Reviewed by a customer , age 11, from Barbara Bush on Sat. Mar 23, 2013

Fair Weather, by Richard Peck

We like Fair Weather by Richard Peck because we like how it is humorous but still has accurate information about the World's Columbian Exposition and what life would be like on the farm back when the Exposition was occuring. We also like how he added what happened to the characters at the end.
Rating:
Reviewed by Ms. Chumley's HR , age 11, from Cy-Fair on Thu. Mar 21, 2013

The Teacher's Funeral, by Richard Peck
Genre: Fiction

Overall The Teacher's Funeral was an ok book. It has a slow beginning and then seemed to end suddenly. It also did not have a strong hook. It was boring at times, but it had some funny parts, but they were too short. It was confusing at times. We liked how the characters spoke to each other.
Rating:
Reviewed by Ms. Hoeft's Homeroom , age 11, from Cy-Fair on Mon. Mar 18, 2013

Fair Weather, by Richard Peck
Genre: Fiction

Fair Weather is such a good book and it is so funny! Our group loved the part when Aunt Euterpe was talking about Grandad in the Civil War and her mom was worrying about him coming back rather than not as you would expect. FYI: Grandad is hilarious!
Rating:
Reviewed by Ms. Hoeft's Homeroom , age 11, from Cy-Fair on Mon. Mar 18, 2013

The Teacher's Funeral, by Richard Peck
Genre: Fiction

We liked The Teacher's Funeral because it has humor, romance, and a good story line. An example of humor in this book is when Russell and Lloyd are at the crick, and Lloyd fell in the crick because he was so afraid of "Old Man Lichenberger"(aka Charlie). An example of romance is when two young men, Charlie and Glen, get into a fight over Tansy. Our overall favorite character is Little Britches, because she tortures the students during spelling by choosing hard words. We also liked how she blamed Russell for teaching her a "bad" poem.
Rating:
Reviewed by Ms. Hoeft's Homeroom , age 11, from Cy-Fair on Mon. Mar 18, 2013

<< Previous Next >>