Home School StuffSurf the NetAbout the LibraryKids Catalog
Fun and GamesKids ReadParents and TeachersHoustonHome

Book Reviews

Write a Book Review | Search Book Reviews
Limit Results by Genre:
<< Previous Next >>

Hour of the Olympics, by Mary Pope Osborne
Genre: Fiction

The story is about Annie and Jack finding the lost story of Hercules. Then they met two new people to help them in their journey. They also met a flying horse named Pegasus when they were returning to the tree house to finish their mission.
Rating:
Reviewed by Ian M. , age 10, from Galena Park on Wed. Jun 15, 2011

Samantha the Swimming Fairy, by Daisy Meadows
Genre: Fiction

It is about two girls that want to go to the pool, but it was closed. So the girls want to the Aqua World, but the girls find out at the goblins are trying to win a award and the lifeguard goblin has the magic goggles, but another goblin got the goggles so the two girls turn into a fairy.
Rating:
Reviewed by Stephanie , age 10, from Galena Park on Tue. Jun 14, 2011

Enemy Pie, by Derek Munson
Genre: Fiction

A boy called Stanley had an enemy. His dad made a pie that was supposed to get rid of your enemies but the pie was a regular one.
Rating: none
Reviewed by Jayla G. , age 4, from Spring Branch Memorial on Wed. Feb 9, 2011

The Drama Club Book 1: The Fall Musical, by Peter Lerangis
Genre: Fiction

This book is about a new life of a girl name Casey Chang whose real name is Kara Chang. She had a secret past that she hated inside. Brianna is her friend trying to hook up with a boy named Kyle. At the end,the show went perfectly and Brianna took Lori's missing place while Casey handles everything fine as student manager.
Rating: none
Reviewed by Phuong N. , age 10, from Northwest on Thu. Jan 13, 2011

Lucy Doesnt Wear Pink, by Nancy Rue
Genre: Fiction

This book is a spiritual girls' book! And I would recommend it to just about any one... if you haven't read it you should!
Rating:
Reviewed by Sonya from Katherine Tyra on Mon. Dec 20, 2010

The Midnight Unicorn, by Neil Reed
Genre: Fiction

The Midnight Unicorn is a very interesting book. A unicorn takes the little girl out into the night and she sees some amazing things. The pictures are extraordinary! I love this book!
Rating:
Reviewed by Sarah , age 7, from Cy-Fair on Sat. Sep 18, 2010

Horrible Harry and the Green Slime, by Suzy Kline
Genre: Fiction

There is a man turning into a angel. Harry made green slime.
Rating:
Reviewed by Precious , age 7, from Spring Branch Memorial on Sat. Sep 11, 2010

Really Riding, by Catherine Hapka
Genre: Fiction

My little kindergarten girl got into this book, even though she isn't what most would call a horse enthusiast. "Really Riding" is an "I Can Read!" book, and that's the main reason I checked it out at our local library. The scout characters were a plus, but I was mainly looking for books that my daughter can read on her own (or at least read along with me). This is a good book to choose. It's considered a book from the "high interest stories for developing readers". Its target audience is 4- to 8-year-olds. The print is fairly large, and there are lots of captivating illustrations to keep your readers' interests.
The main character lives on a pony farm, and two of her friends were going to have their very first riding lesson while they stayed over at her house. You can find out how well their lessons went by reading this book. You'll have to find out for yourself. It will be an absolutely wonderful surprise!
Rating: none
Reviewed by a customer on Tue. Aug 10, 2010

Friends Forever, by Sally Grindley
Genre: Fiction

Ha! Ha! Ha! I still can't get over that name: Figgy Twosocks. What a cute little name, for such a cute little character, in such a cute little independent reader for 1st through 3rd graders! Can we say "Cute?" This is a book about Figgy Twosocks and Jefferson Bear, and their friendship.
We read this book, "Friends Forever", SEVERAL times, before returning it to the library. My kindergarten child fell in love with it before I even introduced it to her. (She has the habit of digging into things ahead of time). She loved the illustrations. I think she thought the same thing that I did - - that this book would be adorable. The cover, after all, shows a huge, white, lovable bear in an endearing embrace with a little red fox. They must be the "bestest" of friends!
The first chapter gives a beautiful illustration of what friendship, and all worthwhile relationships - - for that matter, are all about: how we put up with each other no matter what.
Rating: none
Reviewed by a customer on Tue. Aug 10, 2010

Jitterbug Jam, by Barbara Jean Hicks
Genre: Picture Book

I didn't know what captivated my little two year old into wanting to check this book out. The illustrations didn't really entice me that much. However, to her little eyes, the monsters on the cover were very interesting. "Jitterbug Jam" is about a little monster "boy" who is scared of a little boy he keeps finding and hearing under his bed. Imagine that! Here we are with little ones scared of the MONSTER(S) under their beds, and this little MONSTER is scared of the little boy. Bobo tries to get his family to understand his fears. His big brother is annoyed by him, and doesn't want to play with him because he's a "fraidy cat". Mommy listens to him, but consults Boo-Dad (Bobo's grandpa) to help along with the situation. Find out what Boo-Dad does to help Bobo get over his fear by reading "Jitterbug Jam". I really would love to tell you more, but I don't want to spoil it. Read it for yourself, and you and your children should ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!
Rating: none
Reviewed by a customer on Tue. Aug 10, 2010

<< Previous Next >>