HCPL Logo  
   
 

Facebook Twitter Google+ Flickr YouTube LibraryThing Pinterest

Contact Us

ADA Info

Go Wireless Volunteer @ Your Library Book Hunters! Your Personal Reading Consultants Get a Library Card

Limit Results by Genre:
<< Previous Next >>
First Mothers, by Bonnie Angelo
Genre: Non-Fiction

Originally published in 2000, this is an entertaining book describing mothers of the presidents from Roosevelt through Bush. I am thoroughly enjoying it and would recommend it.

Rating:
Reviewed by a customer, on Sat. Jun 15, 2013

Harvest, by Tess Gerritsen
Genre: Suspense/Thriller

I have recently started reading Tess Gerritsen's books. I really enjoyed this book. Ms. Gerritsen is a medical doctor so the book is filled with enough medical jargon to make it realistic without getting overly technical.
The main character, Dr. Abby DiMatteo, is a brilliant, hard working doctor still in her residency. She has also fallen in love with a surgeon. But her problems start when she and another doctor transplant a harvested heart into a young man instead of the wife of a very wealthy man. This wealthy man does not hesitate to go after Abby. Everything that Abby has worked so hard for comes crashing down around her; her reputation is ruined and her life has become a nightmare. There is also a subplot involving children kidnapped from Russia.
This book kept me hooked until the end.

Rating: none
Reviewed by KFB, from Spring Branch Memorial on Sun. Jul 15, 2012

Giant George, by Dave Nasser
Genre: Non-Fiction

WOW! On a weekend when I really needed a "lift", this man and his dog did the job. Laughed out loud several times (which I hardly EVER do)! For a great story about a dog and his family, give this a try.

Rating:
Reviewed by Carol H., from Atascocita on Wed. May 30, 2012

Biutiful (2010), by
Genre: Drama

I found it one hour too long. Bardem can win Oscars and Goyas, but he didn't make me feel anything for his character. I simply didn't want to know how much he was suffering or when he was going to die... sorry! This is Iñárritu's fourth movie and is very similar to the other three, maybe I am getting tired of the same formula...

Rating:
Reviewed by Pablo, from Aldine on Sat. Apr 21, 2012

Waiting for the Barbarians, by J. M. Coetzee
Genre: Fiction

This was neither a book nor author I had ever read or heard of but it came highly recommended from a friend so I picked it up. The premise is simple and could have occurred anywhere on the globe in the last two centuries: oppressors come to a new location, set up camp, force the natives out through brutal force then began to accept them into their settlement but with less respect than actual citizens. The book goes beyond simply conquered and conqueror when they bring in the secondary protagonist who is half orphan, half love interest of the main protagonist. The book itself examines the notion of war, the idea of land ownership and the divide between how women feel and what men think. It's a great read. I simply wish I had read it before.

Rating:
Reviewed by Juli, from Barbara Bush on Sat. Jan 21, 2012

Bird by Bird, by Anne Lamott
Genre: Non-Fiction

This is a book I just happened to pick up. It caught my attention. It is a wonderful book about being a writer. It is very insightful and extremely entertaining to read.

Rating:
Reviewed by Lucy R., from Baldwin Boettcher on Sun. May 29, 2011

First Grave on the Right, by Daryna Jones
Genre: Fiction

Laugh out loud funny! You immediately fall in love with the characters. The main character is smart and tough and the mystery dream man keeps you in suspense to the very end.

Rating:
Reviewed by Csmadre, from Cy-Fair on Fri. Feb 25, 2011

Half Broke Horses, by Jeannette Walls
Genre: Fiction

A fictional account based on the author's grandmother, Lily Casey Smith was an okay read. Lily certainly was a colorful character with her abilities to break horses, fly airplanes, earn a teaching degree, and work like a man. The chapters were short which made the book a bit choppy. But it was an easy, enjoyable read and I found Lily interesting. Walls' other work, "The Glass Castle" was far better than this one, though.

Rating: none
Reviewed by Linda S., from Cy-Fair on Mon. Jan 10, 2011

Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov
Genre: Fiction

Originally I was wary of this book, knowing of the rather unsavory subject matter, but also having heard that it was strikingly well written, I tentatively decided to try it out. That was a very good move, as this is now one of my top three favorite books. What makes it so grand? This book has one of the finest examples of prose I have seen in the twentieth century, most good writers will have the occasional string of well placed words amongst a sea of mediocrity, but Nabokov manages to have startlingly good prose on every single page, which as a writer and avid reader, I can say is a truly incredible feat. This story is not a romance, but a tragedy, the story of a depraved man and his obsession with a child, an ugly plot done in the most beautiful, seductive prose, that leads you to sympathize with a monster. This book is both wonderfully complex and an easy read, the story both puts you off and draws you in, and is truly the work of a master.

Rating:
Reviewed by a customer, on Wed. Dec 15, 2010

The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, by Katherine Howe
Genre: Fiction

This novel was too good to put down. I kept reading until I couldn't see straight, fell asleep, then awoke to finishing the book. If you like historical fiction and mystery I suggest trying this book. I think this is the author's first book, but you cannot tell by the writing. You'd think she was an old pro.

Rating:
Reviewed by Michelle A., from Tomball on Thu. Oct 28, 2010

<< Previous Next >>