HCPL Logo  
   
 

Facebook Twitter Google+ Flickr YouTube LibraryThing Pinterest

Contact Us

ADA Info

Go Wireless Volunteer @ Your Library Book Hunters! Your Personal Reading Consultants Get a Library Card

Limit Results by Genre:
<< Previous Next >>
My Sister's Keeper, by Jodi Picoult
Genre: Fiction

Entertaining tale. Very clever in character shifts and various points of view. The entire novel is enthralling. The book is amazing, the movie is awful.

Rating: none
Reviewed by Cindy, from Freeman on Sat. May 1, 2010

Bridge of Sighs, by Richard Russo
Genre: Fiction

The good news is that I enjoyed the story-line, most of the prose, and many of the characters. Lou Lynch's reflections on his last 60 years focuses on the town of Thomaston in upstate New York and the convenience store, Ikey Lubin's that his father purchases when his milk route becomes extinct. Lou's best friend, Bobby Marconi and Lou's girlfriend, Sarah Berg are main characters and are well developed. As is Lou's beloved Dad, Big Lou. I would like to know someone like Big Lou. The bad news is that the book is just too long and wordy and some of the events and characters seem unnecessary. Overall, I would rate this book with 3.5 stars.

Rating:
Reviewed by Linda S., from Cy-Fair on Wed. Feb 3, 2010

A Gate at the Stairs, by Lorrie Moore
Genre: Fiction

Lorrie Moore's coming-of-age account of Tassie Keltjin's year at a mid-western college after 9/11/01 is a great story with some great characters that I cared about. Just like anyone's life, Tassie wears different hats. Tassie's part-time job as a nanny takes up a large part of her days, but so does her romance with Reynaldo, and she also has her family who need her. Her younger brother Robert struggles to find his way, her mother has some depression/mental problems and her dad is an outstanding potato farmer. The story-line works well, the prose is lovely, and I especially enjoyed the parts about Emmie, the child that Tassie grows to love.

Rating:
Reviewed by Linda S., from Cy-Fair on Thu. Jan 21, 2010

My Stroke of Insight, by Jill Taylor
Genre: Non-Fiction

This is the story of how Dr. Jill Taylor recovered over a eight years, from holding a fork to relearning her field of expertise. Provided some invaluable insight on the first two years of rebuilding. Would recommend the CD format. If you have someone in your life who has had a stroke, this is worth a listen.

Rating:
Reviewed by Candi, from Maud Marks on Thu. Jan 14, 2010

Have a Little Faith, by Mitch Albom
Genre: Non-Fiction

Based on a true story about two REV's (pastors), one Jewish and the other Christian. Wonderful gems of wisdom and great insight to both religions told in story format. Easy to listen to on CD.

Rating:
Reviewed by Candi K., from Maud Marks on Wed. Dec 30, 2009

The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, by Katherine Howe
Genre: Fiction

The CD Verision is terrific. It tells the story of Deliverance Dane's trial in Salem, Mass, and brings the family story forward to 1991.

Rating:
Reviewed by Candi K., from Maud Marks on Mon. Nov 2, 2009

Jurassic Park, by Michael Crichton
Genre: Fiction

The thing you need to know about “Jurassic Park” is that it is quite different from the movie on a number of points. I will not spoil it for you here, but suffice it to say that I have seen the movie numerous times, and I never knew what was coming next in the book. It had me reading quickly to get to the end and see how the characters were going to get out of trouble. “Jurassic Park” was captivating and completely engrossing from the very first chapter. I was on the edge of my seat, racing toward the finish line and hoping none of my favorite characters ended up on the dino-diet. It was a fast-paced read and almost impossible for me to put down. “Jurassic Park” is simply thrilling - and quite a bit darker than its movie adaptation. Crichton manages to give the reader all of the scientific details without bogging down the story or giving up even an ounce of the creepy suspense that builds from the first pages. “Jurassic Park” and Michael Crichton deserve every bit of accolade they have received. Deeply impressed, I will definitely be recommending this book to others.

Rating:
Reviewed by Susan B. E., from Tomball on Sat. Oct 24, 2009

Dear John, by Nicholas Sparks
Genre: Fiction

I loved this book. Its about a guy who is in the military but when on leave goes home and falls in love with a girl. It's an amazing story and you should read it!

Rating: none
Reviewed by Megan , from Spring Branch Memorial on Wed. Oct 21, 2009

The Amateur Marriage, by Anne Tyler
Genre: Fiction

I love Anne Tyler and have read many of her books. This book begins in 1941 and covers 60 years focusing on the marriage of Pauline and Michael, their problems and their children. Tyler is a master at relationships and her characters have believable lives and troubles. She also writes wonderful dialogues and has such a nice, easy-to-read style. Two of my other Anne Tyler favorites are "Accidental Tourist" and "Ladder of Years."

Rating:
Reviewed by Linda S., from Cy-Fair on Sat. Oct 10, 2009

The Edge of Dawn, by Beverly Jenkins
Genre: Suspense/Thriller

I really enjoyed this action packed story of the daughter of prominent Michigan doctor whose father was murdered. Then federal agents working for good and bad sides all try and kidnap her to get information about a mysterious African diamond that her Father hid before his death. The clincher is that she knows nothing of it. One of her kidnapper becomes her savior during this treasure hunt. The author does a great job of keeping the story intense and making you really fall for the characters!

Rating:
Reviewed by Calondra B., from Cy-Fair on Sun. Sep 6, 2009

<< Previous Next >>