HCPL Logo  
   
 

Facebook Twitter Google+ Flickr YouTube LibraryThing Pinterest

Contact Us

ADA Info

Go Wireless Volunteer @ Your Library Book Hunters! Your Personal Reading Consultants Get a Library Card

Limit Results by Genre:
<< Previous Next >>
Man of Fate, by Rochelle Alers
Genre: Fiction

Ava Warrick has just run into the rear of Kyle Chathams's vintage Jag. Kyle turns out to be an attorney and Ava believes he will sue her, not come to her rescue. Can he convince her that not all men are the same and that it is was really fate that they met. It's the first in the Best Men series. I recommend reading this book.

Rating:
Reviewed by C. B., from Cy-Fair on Sat. Sep 5, 2009

Resurrecting Midnight, by Eric Jerome Dickey
Genre: Fiction

He does it again! Gideon returns with more nightmares and daymares about his world as an assassin. The DNA results are waiting for him on Catherine's kitchen counter, someone's blackmailing him, and he's sent on another dangerous assignment in Buenos Aires against some ruthless assassins. This book left me on the edge of my seat wondering will he make it out. I will only say that I recommend reading this book.

Rating:
Reviewed by Calondra B., from Cy-Fair on Sat. Sep 5, 2009

Watership Down, by Richard Adams
Genre: Fiction

Hazel and Fiver are brothers, rabbit brothers who live in a warren that is being destroyed because of land development. Hazel and Fiver, along with other male rabbits leave their home in search of a new place to live and in search of female rabbits. Even though this book has a slow start, it's well worth the effort. I loved and cared about these rabbits. Adams has wonderful descriptions of farm life, gives believable human-like qualities to the animals, and throws in some page-turning adventures all making for a great book.

Rating:
Reviewed by Linda S., from Cy-Fair on Sat. Sep 5, 2009

Basketball Jones, by E. Lynn Harris
Genre: Fiction

This book surrounds the life of a pro basketball player who leads a double life and his efforts to keep it from friends and family. Consequences, black mail, commitment, and lies which constantly lead you to wonder how will it all end? How will your personal views be affected? Although I was a bit hesitant to read due to the subject, E. Lynn Harris delivered a well written book.

Rating:
Reviewed by a customer, from Cy-Fair on Mon. Aug 31, 2009

Lords of the Sea, by John R. Hale
Genre: Non-Fiction

This is an excellent book that serves well as a primer for ancient Greek naval history. The author does a thorough job researching and revealing Athens' progression as a democracy and how naval military might played a central role in lifting the general population both financially and politically. Along the way, the reader will be thrilled by the drama and intrigue that marked the ups and downs of Athens hegemony.

Rating:
Reviewed by Mark, from Kingwood on Mon. Aug 24, 2009

Bring on the Blessings, by Beverly Jenkins
Genre: Fiction

This is the story of a fictional town who placed an ad to be sold on eBay due to its hard economic times. It was a very loving community with its share of drama and intrigue. It also shared an emphasis on the foster care dilemmas that many children face. As the story ended, there were many unanswered questions surrounding some of the characters. Overall a good story.

Rating:
Reviewed by C. B., from Cy-Fair on Sun. Aug 23, 2009

Nothing to Lose, by Lee Child
Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Not everybody’s favorite vagrant, but soon nearly everyone’s hero. Jack Reacher is a strange man. He spent 13 years in the Army as an MP and is now a wanderer through many lives. He is gritty, hardheaded and noble. He doesn’t back down from a challenge or a fight.

Rating:
Reviewed by a customer, on Sat. Aug 8, 2009

Unacustomed Earth, by Jhumpa Lahiri

I've read all of Lahiri's books and this one is my favorite. This is a collection of eight short stories; the first five focus on American-born Bengalis and their problems with spouses, parents, siblings, and lovers. The last three stories are linked stories and focus on Hema and Kaushik who meet as children and reunite as adults. Lahiri's prose is gorgeous, and each story is easy to read and full of insights about the Indian culture.

Rating:
Reviewed by Linda S., from Cy-Fair on Wed. May 20, 2009

Writing Mysteries, by Sue Grafton, Ed.
Genre: Non-Fiction

You know you’ve always wanted to. Face it, at one time or another; everyone wants to get away with murder. This is your chance. The book, Writing Mysteries, gives you the tools of the trade you need to write about the perfect crime. I really liked this book and will probably go out and buy a copy. It is straight forward in its presentation of the clues you need to write the classic mystery. It is written by over twenty-five experienced mystery writers and edited by Sue Grafton. It covers everything from getting ideas to marketing your story and most things in between. If you’ve ever wanted to write a mystery or any other kind of fiction, I highly recommend this book.

Rating:
Reviewed by R. S., from Katherine Tyra on Tue. May 19, 2009

Just the Man She Needs, by Gwynne Forster
Genre: Fiction

Found this author by accident but the book was a good read about a successful newspaper columnist and a high powered CEO. Some passages were a bit drawn out but it had a true romantic vibe. Couple meets--they run into some bumps in the road, but they are truly swept off their feet with a strong attraction. I had a warm fuzzy feeling once I finished the book. You'll enjoy it.

Rating: none
Reviewed by a customer, from Cy-Fair on Sun. May 17, 2009

<< Previous Next >>