HCPL Logo  
   
 

Facebook Twitter Google+ Flickr YouTube LibraryThing Pinterest

Contact Us

ADA Info

Go Wireless Volunteer @ Your Library Book Hunters! Your Personal Reading Consultants Get a Library Card

Movie Reviews

Adult Book Reviews | Teen Book Reviews | Childrens' Book Reviews | Críticas en Español

Write a Movie Review   |   Search Movie Reviews
Limit Results by Genre:
How the MPAA ratings work.
<< Previous Next >>

Cruel Intentions
MPAA Rating: R
Genre: Drama

"Cruel Intentions" is an above average teenage movie. Its prime quality resides in the fact that it is a transposition of Choderlos de Laclos' "Les Liaisons Dangereuses" in today's society. The soundtrack is great and the actors are believable enough to make the audience appreciate the film, although a little more work on the story would have made the ensemble more convincing.

Warning: Stay away from the movie's sequels!


Reviewed by Ryan W., from Cy-Fair on Thu. Jul 12, 2007

Hot Fuzz
MPAA Rating: Rated R for violent content including some graphic images, and language.
Genre: Action/Adventure

Hot Fuzz is a fast-paced police comedy with a heavy dose of action thrown into the mix. Police Officer Chris Angel is the best cop in London. Because he shows up the rest of the London Police Force he is moved to a small town and paired with an eager but inept partner. In this idyllic town, Angel and his new partner uncover disturbing disappearances and accidents. Is a killer loose in Angel?s new home?
Viewers who enjoyed Shaun of the Dead will recognize another gem from writing team Edgar Wright and Simon Peg. Witty dialogue and well timed physical humor pair together for a cohesive comedic action movie. Viewers might wish to turn on subtitles as the accents can become difficult to understand. Also, be warned, there are a few gory scenes as characters are killed off.


Reviewed by Rebecca, from Barbara Bush on Wed. Jul 11, 2007

Bowling for Columbine
MPAA Rating: R
Genre: Documentary

Michael Moore deserves his Oscar. He opens his audience's eyes to great issues in our beloved country: from school shootings to Americans' irrational fear of the unknown, nothing is left in the dark. A real example of free speech on screen. Two thumbs way up. Also recommended: Fahrenheit 9/11 and Sicko.


Reviewed by John M, from Cy-Fair on Wed. Jul 11, 2007

Terminator 2
MPAA Rating: R
Genre: Action/Adventure

Action-packed, emotionally enthralling, wonderful cast, first-class special effects: a perfect combination for a perfect movie which has not aged a day. I personally recommend that you see the Director's Cut (long version) available on the Extreme Edition of Terminator 2.


Reviewed by Arvin S, from Cy-Fair on Wed. Jul 11, 2007

Almost Famous
MPAA Rating: R
Genre: Comedy

Almost Famous by Cameron Crowe (Jerry Maguire) is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The film is a patchwork of good music from the 1970s (Led Zeppelin, Elton John, Beach Boys, Cat Stevens) and is seen through the eyes of character William Miller, a 15-year-old reporter for the magazine Rolling Stone going on his first tour with the band Stillwater. This is truly a feel-good movie, punctuated by magical moments during which pictures and sounds are in such perfect harmony that you want to see those scenes over and over again. Actress Kate Hudson (You, Me and Dupree) shines as band aid Penny Lane and newcomer Patrick Fugit (White Oleander) is a revelation. Other great actors and actresses are part of the cast: Jason Lee (Earl in My Name is Earl), Billy Crudup (Mission: Impossible 3), Frances McDormand (Fargo) and Anna Paquin (X-men). Of course, it is needless to say that this is not a conventional "love story" movie but rather a road trip through the best American music has to offer.

Note: An uncut version (40 minutes longer) called "Untitled? is available but out of print since 2001 (let's hope the library can get it someday).


Reviewed by Marty S, from Cy-Fair on Wed. Jul 11, 2007

Howl's Moving Castle
MPAA Rating: PG for frightening images and brief mild language.
Genre: Animation

Howl's Moving Castle is a humorous and witty anime with a heart! I came across as I was doing a search on Christian Bale movies. I requested it, got it, watched it, and fell in love with it. The picturesque details of the film is amazing! The actors' voice-overs is superb and pours personality into the characters. It is through Sophie, one of the main characters, that the movie-watcher experiences incredible encounters with and journeys through this magical world in a moving castle. Grandma Sophie not only takes it upon herself to clean Howl's castle (an interesting task with even more interesting results), but she also helps Howl (who is unaware he needs it) recover a very important item that he purposely gave up years ago. One of the funniest scenes of the film is when Grandma Sophie and the Witch of the Waste have to climb these long, long, long set of stairs leading up to the King's castle. Their banter will have you rolling. Billy Crystal is always funny, but as Calcifer, the fire demon, he takes the cake. Christian Bale is the voice of Howl. Jean Simmons-Grandma Sophie, Lauren Bacall - the Witch of the Waste, Blythe Danner - Madame Suliman, Young Sophie - Emily Mortimer. This anime is a must see! So check it out. You will enjoy it.
It has a PG rating so "some material may not be suitable for [younger] children" because of some frightening images.


Reviewed by Sheryl L., from Atascocita on Sat. May 12, 2007

Ryan's Daughter
MPAA Rating: R for a sex scene.
Genre: Drama

This film has its faults. Mainly, that its adaptation from one of the great French works, Flaubert's Madame Bovery, is not so much a difficult work to adapt - the story about a woman stuck in a loveless marriage, but it's the beauty of the words written more than a century ago being only equally matched in the cinematography of this movie. But, unfortunately, the movie lacks the lasting presence and magnitude of Lean's previous works like Lawrence of Arabia or Bridge on the River Kwai. Both better movies and more so recommended than this blustery attempt at the plight of an Irish woman's woes set against the Irish fight for freedom from England's greedy talons.


Reviewed by Josh B., from Fairbanks on Wed. May 9, 2007

Stalag 17
MPAA Rating: NR
Genre: Drama

I saw this movie in my history class back in seventh grade. It's a movie based on the Holocaust although its not as graphic as some films I've seen. This is a funny, very intriguing story that all should see. The ending is unpredictable, you'll have a great time watching this movie, I promise!


Reviewed by a customer, from Atascocita on Thu. Apr 5, 2007

Anne of Green Gables
MPAA Rating: NR
Genre: Drama

Normally, when I watch a movie that is based off of a book I sit down ready for some entertainment, but nothing more. When I started watching Anne of Green Gables starring Meghan Follows and Colleen Dewherst I was completely blown away. This is one of the best productions I have ever seen. The casting was perfect and the script was far better than the book. I would definately recommend this movie and its sequel Anne of Avonlea. Sit down and relax, this is a movie that people ages nine-one-hundred and five will enjoy.


Reviewed by Gwendolen, from Atascocita on Sun. Mar 4, 2007

Invincible
MPAA Rating: PG for sports action and some mild language.
Genre: Drama

I would give this movie 10 stars if I could. Invincible an uplifting, positive and fun movie that's also safe to bring home to the kids.
The movie is based on the real life experiences of Vince Papale. In many ways Vince is the stereotypical guy who's at a low-point in his life. I suspect many of you guys out there (myself included) will be able to relate to his character (played by Mark Wahlberg) in at least one way or another.
Vince attempts the impossible, he tries out for the Philadelphia Eagles, a pro NFL football team, in an open try-out session held by coach Dick Vermeil (played by Greg Kinnear).
Vince's journey ultimately proves to himself, his peers, and viewers that with enough determination, will, and courage you truly can make whatever you want out of your life.
If you're looking for a great pick-me-up, or just a fan of Football you'll love this movie. I recommend watching the Special Features BEFORE you watch the movie, specifically, "The Vince Papale story". It will give you a better insight into Vince's history and his personality that the movie simply doesn't have time to develop.


Reviewed by Will W., from Barbara Bush on Mon. Feb 5, 2007

<< Previous Next >>