Teens Know
Books and Magizines

Homework Help

Databases

Events

Life

Entertainment

Internet

Beyond High School

Internet Safety

Talk to Us

Harris County Public Library - your pathway to knowledge

Book Reviews

Search Book Reviews | Write a Book Review
Limit Results by Genre:
<< Previous Next >>

Dork Diaries: Tales of a Not-So-Smart Miss Know-It-All, by Rachel Renne Russel
Genre: Fiction

Tales of a Not-So-Smart Miss Know-It-All was a superb book! it had everything a 10 yr old likes in a book: Bffs, Mean Girls, crazy famliy members, a cute guy, and to top it off, a girl, who trys to juggle it all! i really recomend this book to everyone I know! Nikki J. Maxwell is totaly not a CCP ( Cool, Cute, and Popular ). She tries to keep a cool calm head, even when everything is in Chaos and she wants to pull her hair out!But no matter what happens, Nikki always lets her ener dork shine thought with her friends, Zoey, Chole, and Brandon. ( and that can be hard, when a DIVA CCP like MacKinzie tries to embarras you when you want to make the school newspaper )
Rating:
Reviewed by Francean from Aldine on Tue. Jun 18, 2013

Stormbreaker, by Anthony Horowitz
Genre: Fiction

Great book. The series is awesome I read all of them. They where great.
Rating:
Reviewed by Drake from Cy-Fair on Thu. Jun 6, 2013

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins
Genre: Adventure

I absolutely LOVED this book. I saw the movie the DAY it came out. The book is about a girl named Katniss who, in a desperate moment, decides to take her 12 year old sister's place in the 74th Annual Hunger Games. She is reunited with the boy who saved her in what is probably her most desperate time of need. They go through the Games, half alone and half together...
Rating:
Reviewed by Peyton from Katy on Fri. Jun 22, 2012

Breaking Dawn, by Stephenie Meyer
Genre: Fiction

Breaking dawn is another book of Edward and Bella's life. They get married and go on a honeymoon. Everything is good until Bella discovers she is pregnant with a half vampire half human child. Although Edward begs her to abort the child (to save her life) Bella decides to have the child. Nearly killing herself in the birth of her child she becomes a vampire like Edward. Then comes part two where they figure out their family (including them and the child) could get killed by other vampires of a broken law......
Rating:
Reviewed by ele654 from Katy on Fri. Jun 8, 2012

The Warlock, by Michael Scott
Genre: Fantasy

Probably the best book in the whole series so far. Has lots of plot twists that keep you guessing up to the last page. Can't wait for the next one!
Rating: none
Reviewed by Fae from Maud Marks on Sun. Jun 12, 2011

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak
Genre: Fiction

I was reluctant to read this book because I knew the narrator was death and I thought it would be a sad story about the horrors of World War II. Taking place in Nazi Germany, there are three wonderful characters: Liesel, age 9, a foster child and book lover; Rudy, her best friend who is daring and colorful; and Hans, Liesel's foster father who is kind and caring. Told from the perspective of non-Jewish Germans works well as do the pencil drawings and nice prose.
Rating:
Reviewed by Linda S. from Cy-Fair on Wed. Mar 16, 2011

Lucas, by Kevin Brooks
Genre: Fiction

Author Kevin Brooks is not afraid to stray away from the straight and narrow path of supernatural creatures that seem to always fill the store shelves with his book 'Lucas'. With a mixture of action and sitting-on-the-edge-of-your-seat anticipation, 'Lucas' is the kind of book that opens our eyes to the injustices that still take place around us and guides us through main character Caitlyn MacCann's search for her identity. It's unlike other books where the characters are muscular, strong men who have girls falling for them from every direction. Only Caitlyn falls for Lucas, the mysterious boy (and pretty average non-muscular, lean boy) who catches Caitlyn's attention as soon as she sets her eyes on him. Living on the small island of Hale off the coast of England, it is odd to see strangers unless they happen to be tourists. Lucas isn't a tourist, though. He draws attention to himself not only as an outsider but through his slight build and blond hair with blue eyes. A series of events take place and are unjustly blamed on him, forcing him to take a defensive stand. He is marked as enemy number one as soon as Jamie Tait, the "closest thing to a celebrity the island has ever produced", is antagonized by him.
Rating:
Reviewed by Maite D. from Tomball on Sat. Mar 5, 2011

Witch and Wizard, by James Patterson and Gabrielle Charbonnet
Genre: Fiction

Suzanne Collins is sure to have some magical competition with this book! (Suzanne Collins is the author of the Hunger Games another good book)
Rating:
Reviewed by Victoria B. from Katherine Tyra on Sat. Feb 26, 2011

The Crushes, by Pamela Wells
Genre: Fiction

I absolutely loved it. I'd recommend this book to anyone. Four girls, four romance stories, it was magnificent. After I read it once I had to read it again. If you read it, you'll love it. I promise you that.
Rating:
Reviewed by Cheyenne from Freeman on Tue. Jan 25, 2011

Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey, by Margaret Peterson Haddix
Genre: Fiction

I loved this book. It is the best book i have ever read in my life! The description in the book made me feel like I was there with the characters.
Rating:
Reviewed by a customer on Sun. Jan 9, 2011

<< Previous Next >>
Teens Know - Home Harris County Public Library Catalog My Account Ask a Librarian