Teens Know
Books and Magizines

Homework Help

Databases

Events

Life

Entertainment

Internet

Beyond High School

Internet Safety

Talk to Us

Harris County Public Library - your pathway to knowledge

Book Reviews

Search Book Reviews | Write a Book Review
Limit Results by Genre:
<< Previous Next >>

Alcatraz, by James Barter
Genre: Non-Fiction

Alcatraz is a great book. It tells about escape attempts, famous inmates, and what it was before it became a maximum security prison.
Rating:
Reviewed by Griffin from Spring Branch Memorial on Wed. Dec 1, 2010

The Road to College: The High School Student's Guide to Discovering Y, by Joyce E. Suber
Genre: Non-Fiction

This is an informational book, about preparing for college while in high school. It has great tips, lessons, and questionnaires to help you learn more about what you should do after high school. Anyone gcould get a lot from this book.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Fri. Sep 24, 2010

Artichoke's Heart, by Suzanne Supplee
Genre: Fiction

This book was great. It's so encouraging and inspiring for teenage girls; I loved it. It's about a girl with a weight problem, her journey to bring her health under control and all the fun stuff that happens along the way. Really great book.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Fri. Sep 24, 2010

Into The Wild Nerd Yonder, by Julie Halpern
Genre: Fiction

There's this girl named Jessie and her 2 BFF's turn totally punk!!! Wow. Now she's friendless. Then there's her brother Baurett. He's leaving for college and Baurett's homeboy Van is Jessie's long time crush. But then her friend Bizza, goes after her Van. What is Jessie gonna do? You have to read this! All the girls who like romance and suspense read this!
Rating:
Reviewed by a customer on Sun. Sep 19, 2010

To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
Genre: Fiction

This one is a classic, you've probably heard it mentioned billions of times. And I actually loved it. It's so heartwarming, but there's a lot of suspense and sarcastic humor threaded through that it grabs your attention from the first page. I'd recommend it to any teenager, or even adult.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Tue. Sep 14, 2010

Persuasion, by Jane Austen
Genre: Fiction

I actually heard about this book through the movie "The Lake House." The main character in the movie loves the book, and I like Jane Austen so I thought I'd try it. Austen is obviously famous for Pride and Prejudice and really long words that you can't understand, but this book was awesome. It's one of those that you'll want to read again (I read it twice in a period of a month...) I'd totally recommend it to any teenage girl who likes Austen and doesn't mind the old English.
Rating: none
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Tue. Sep 7, 2010

How to Say Goodbye in Robot, by Natalie Standiford
Genre: Fiction

I loved the story. It really was great, but there was so much undertone trash that really ruined the book for me. It's about a girl, whose family life isn't all that great who becomes the best of friends with a guy whose family life is terrible. It's really funny, interesting, and entertaining, but really heartbreaking all the same.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Tue. Sep 7, 2010

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, by Betty Smith
Genre: Fiction

In "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn", the main character Francie Nolan faces many challenges including not having enough money to feed the entire family, getting an education, dealing with her father who often gets drunk, and keeping a good relationship with her mother. It tells the story of her life, and of her parents' lives, thus giving a good background of her origin. Metaphorically, Francie is the strong tree that grows in Brooklyn. This book was originally my summer reading, but it was so good. I didn't mind spending my hot summer days reading it.
Rating:
Reviewed by Stephanie S. from Cy-Fair on Sun. Aug 22, 2010

The Twilight Saga Eclipse, by Stephenie Meyer
Genre: Fiction

The movie Twilight is the most exciting movie I have ever seen, but reading the book reveals some secrets the that the movie does not. I think that the writing is phenomenal and it has such suspense in it. With great writing comes beautiful language. It brought tears to my eyes reading the story. In other words, the book and movies are fabulous and I am looking forward to Breaking Dawn.
Rating:
Reviewed by Hannah R. from Northwest on Thu. Jul 8, 2010

A Kiss in Time, by Alex Flinn
Genre: Fiction

This book is AMAZING!! It's a cute love story. It's like a 21st century version of sleeping beauty. It's about a girl named Talia and she is put under a spell along with the whole castle. 300 yrs later she's still asleep and this modern boy jack finds her and that's how there love story begins. If you're into romance this a book you should definitely read!!
Rating:
Reviewed by a customer on Thu. Jul 8, 2010

<< Previous Next >>
Teens Know - Home Harris County Public Library Catalog My Account Ask a Librarian