Teens Know
Books and Magizines

Homework Help

Databases

Events

Life

Entertainment

Internet

Beyond High School

Internet Safety

Talk to Us

Harris County Public Library - your pathway to knowledge

Book Reviews

Search Book Reviews | Write a Book Review
Limit Results by Genre:
<< Previous Next >>

Beastly, by Alex Flinn
Genre: Fiction

This book is great! It's basically just a modern retelling of the classic "Beauty and the Beast" story. It's about a boy who goes through the journey of the "Beast" in New York City. It's a really great book for anyone who has ever seen the movie or heard of the fairy tale, loved it. It's a wonderful romance that I might even read again!
Rating:
Reviewed by Alexandra from Octavia Fields on Tue. Jul 6, 2010

Secret Life of Bees, by Sue Monk Kidd
Genre: Fiction

This book was so inspiring it had me in tears and laughing out loud. I only picked it up because it was required for school, but then I couldn't make myself put it down. A 14-year-old girl named Lily runs away from her abusive father with her black nanny and a few of her dead mother's possessions. They run away to a small town in South Carolina that had a unknown significance to her mother. And that's all Lily wants, to remember and know her mother. When she meets the Boatright sisters, May, June and August, the teach her about bee keeping, and honoring the ultimate mother, Mary. But what Lily doesn't know, is that they knew her mother and they already know Lily.
Rating:
Reviewed by Rayne from Maud Marks on Tue. Jul 6, 2010

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak
Genre: Fiction

This book is amazing. The plot is engaging, and the style of its narration and word choice really evoke deep thinking. It can appeal to a wide range of audiences. It is quite long but worth every page. If you're looking for a book that will leave you thinking, this is the one you've been waiting for.
Rating:
Reviewed by a customer on Tue. Jun 29, 2010

Book of a Thousand Days, by Shannon Hale

I really enjoyed this book. There were lots of twists you didn't expect and the ending is sweet. It's about two girls, a Lady and her maid, who get locked in a tower for seven years. Eventually, they get out and find the world isn't quite how they left it. Horrible things have happened and they flee to another city, finding work and hiding who they really are while also finding out what has happened while they were locked away. The language is a bit proper, and for some, may be boring, but if you can handle it, you'll like the book.
Rating:
Reviewed by Alexandra from Octavia Fields on Thu. Jun 3, 2010

Meg Rosoff, by How I Live Now
Genre: Fiction

I was a little torn about this book after i finished it. While it was a great story, it wasn't nearly as entertaining or even interesting as i thought it'd be.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Tue. May 25, 2010

The Princess Plot, by Kirsten Boie
Genre: Fiction

This has become a favorite! Many unexpected twists occur in the story, and I was addicted to the book. One of the best books I've ever read, can't wait for the next book in the series!
Rating:
Reviewed by a customer from Cy-Fair on Thu. May 20, 2010

The Merchant of Death, by D.J. MacHale
Genre: Fiction

These books are amazing! A must read if you like science fiction/action. The series even ends well, which is kind of unusual due to many books ending with cliffhangers. This series answers all questions but does leave you with a little something to think about on your own. very good read!
Rating:
Reviewed by a customer from Maud Marks on Mon. May 17, 2010

An Unlikely Friendship, by Ann Rinaldi
Genre: Fiction

I absolutely LOVED this book. While it's really entertaining and interesting throughout, it's also educating as it teaches you about Abraham Lincoln's wife and her dear friend, Lizzy, a former slave. It's humorous, sad, and thrilling all at the same time. I'd recommend it to any teenage girl.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Fri. Apr 16, 2010

Brooklyn Rose, by Ann Rinaldi
Genre: Fiction

This was the first of Rinaldi's books I found a little dull in the beginning, but as the story went on I came to really enjoy it. The story is of a girl named Rose who married a much older man to help her family with their financial problems, and her life in Brooklyn. She matures greatly, learns things by the time of sixteen we won't learn till we are thirty. It's another good book to add to all the others Rinaldi has written.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Fri. Apr 16, 2010

Alis, by Naomi Rich
Genre: Fiction

I actually really liked this book. It has its ups and downs, and it carries your emotions with it. It's about a girl who is being forced to marry someone almost thirty years older than herself, and she must decide what's more important, her happiness in finding true love, or being outcast from the only life she's ever known. It's a highly intriguing story, I read it in less than two days.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Fri. Apr 16, 2010

<< Previous Next >>
Teens Know - Home Harris County Public Library Catalog My Account Ask a Librarian