Teens Know
Books and Magizines

Homework Help

Databases

Events

Life

Entertainment

Internet

Beyond High School

Internet Safety

Talk to Us

Harris County Public Library - your pathway to knowledge

Book Reviews

Search Book Reviews | Write a Book Review
Limit Results by Genre:
<< Previous Next >>

The Rules of Survival, by Nancy Werlin
Genre: Fiction

Although the plot of this book seemed like a good one, the book was, sorry to say, boring. It just kind of went on and on and without capturing any interest and the plot just wasn't tangible enough. I wouldn't recommend it.
Rating: none
Reviewed by Alexandra from Octavia Fields on Wed. Mar 17, 2010

Bliss, by Lauren Myracle
Genre: Fiction

This book was so good, and so fitfully creepy that it made me shiver. The ending is unexpected and, well.. sad. Which is why, even though this book was great, I can't ever read it again. It would break my heart all over again to read it a second time. I recommend it if you want a good, entertaining chill.
Rating: none
Reviewed by Alexandra from Octavia Fields on Wed. Mar 17, 2010

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak
Genre: Historical Fiction

This book is probably one of the best books I've ever read. I heard about it through a review on this website and decided to pick it up. It's an awesome story about a girl who, as you can probably guess, steals books. The setting is in World War II Germany, and it offers a different scene of suffering than most of the books about the Holocaust and rising power of Hitler and his Nazis. I never got bored of the book, it was really interesting. I'd recommend it to any pre-teen or teenager who is interested in this era. It's definitely one of my favorites.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Mon. Feb 1, 2010

Star Wars: The Swarm War, by Troy Denning
Genre: Science Fiction

This book is packed with excitement and intrigue. I was on the edge of my seat with the end of each chapter. Have you ever wondered how much Luke Skywalker knew about his mother? Or asked yourself why R2D2 never talks about her or his father, the famed Darth Vader, before Luke was born? Well this book is the conclusion of the DARK NEST trilogy. The story begins with The Joiner King with The Unseen Queen after it. The trilogy is action-packed and a great read for Star Wars and Sci-Fi lovers alike.
Rating:
Reviewed by Emily K. from Tomball on Thu. Jan 28, 2010

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have To Kill You, by Ann Carter
Genre: Fiction

Ok, the title is a little on the lame side. I almost put it down due to that fact. But this book is actually really entertaining. Nothing for guys, I'm sure, but it's a hilarious, romantic, even suspenseful read for any teenage girl. I loved the way Carter wrote, with lots of sarcastic humor and surprising twists.
Rating:
Reviewed by Lauren S. from Barbara Bush on Thu. Jan 14, 2010

City of Glass, by Cassandra Clare
Genre: Fiction

These books are AMAZING!!!!! If you liked Twilight you will be enchanted by these books. They are clean and very interesting. You can relate to so many things in this book. Many people agree that this is the best series of books. Beautifully written and great things within it.
Rating:
Reviewed by Jazmin from Barbara Bush on Fri. Jan 8, 2010

A Break With Charity: A Story About the Salem Witch Trials, by Ann Rinaldi
Genre: Fiction

Susanna desperately wants to join the circle of girls who meet every week at the parsonage. What she doesn't realize is that the leader of the group, the malicious Ann Putnam, is about to set off a torrent of false accusations leading to the imprisonment and execution of countless innocent people. When Susanna puts the pieces together, she faces a painful choice. She can either keep quiet and let the witch hunt panic continue or "break charity" with the cruel group--and risk having her family named as witches. Romance, faith, lies, drama, suspense, and heartbreak all combined in an enthralling historical novel. Five stars!
Rating:
Reviewed by Marina M. from Tomball on Tue. Dec 15, 2009

Eragon, by Christoper Paolini
Genre: Fantasy

I thought this series was amazing. A lot of tight spots, unexpected connections, forbidden love, and majestic powers and beasts. I recommend this series to anyone who enjoys incredible fantasies and doesn't mind reading thick books.
Rating:
Reviewed by Taylor from Northwest on Sat. Nov 28, 2009

The Last Olympian, by Rick Riordan
Genre: Fiction

You have to read this book! This story is the end of the Lightning Thief series. It contains all the secrets and knowledge you need to know about such as Percy's prophecy, Luke's past, and how to save the world. Don't miss the other books in this series as well!
Rating:
Reviewed by Jessica from Stratford on Tue. Oct 20, 2009

Hero, by Perry Moore
Genre: Fiction

This book has just become one of my favorite books. It is so INCREDIBLE that I stayed up past midnight just so I could finish it. If you're tired of the same old same old then you definitely need to read this. It's something different and just out of the ordinary but in a good way. Words can't describe how INCREDIBLE this book is so you just have to read it and then you'll know what I mean.
Rating: none
Reviewed by Vivian from Northwest on Mon. Oct 12, 2009

<< Previous Next >>
Teens Know - Home Harris County Public Library Catalog My Account Ask a Librarian