2013 Eisner Awards

If you are a fan of all things graphic novels, you should become familiar with the Will Eisner Awards. Will Eisner is considered the father of graphic novels, contributing to the comic book industry as early as the 1940s. Every year during Comic Con in San Diego, Eisner awards are given to graphic novel and comic books writers and illustrators for exceptional and creative works.

The following titles received awards and are available for checkout from your local library. Visit here to see the full list of winners and nominees.

Saga BabyMouse Adventure Time A Wrinkle in Time Darth Vader and Son Helen Keller

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples - Best New Series, Best Continuing Series, and Best Writer

Babymouse for President by Jennifer L. Holm - Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 7)

Adventure Time by Ryan North - Best Publication for Kids (ages 8-12)

Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time, adapted by Hope Larson - Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17)

Darth Vader and Son by Jeffrey Brown - Best Humor Publication

Annie Sullivan and the Trials of Helen Keller by Joseph Lambert - Best Reality-Based Work