ALA Announces Youth Media Awards

The American Library Association announced its 2017 Youth Media Awards this morning. Here is a short selection of the winners. You can see the full list at ALA's website.

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature: The Girl Who Drank the Moon

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children: Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat, illustrated by Javaka Steptoe

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults, Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults, and YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults : March: Book Three by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award: The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievement in Writing for young adults: Sarah Dessen.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States: Cry, Heart, But Never Break by Glenn Rigntved, illustrated by Charolotte Pardi, translated by Robert Moulthrop

Pura Belpré Awards honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience: Lowriders to the Center of the Earth, illustrated by Raúl Gonzalez

Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award for English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience: The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens:
The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner