Celebrate Asian Pacific American Heritage Month @ HCPL

This May, you are invited to join Harris County Public Library in celebrating the contributions to this country's history and culture of Americans of Asian and Pacific Islander descent.

HCPL and the Friends of Evelyn Meador Library will host Houston-based, bestselling author Chitra Bannerjee Divakaruni. She will talk about her latest novel, Before We Visit the Goddess. This special event will take place at Evelyn Meador Branch Library on Monday, May 20 at 11:00 AM. Her talk will be followed by a meet and greet and book-signing. 

Young Audiences of Houston are presenting Narratives and Nature with Shawn Renzoh Head, a master of the traditional Japanese wooden flute, the Shakuhachi. You will learn about the Japanese music through teaching stories. This event will be held at Northwest Branch Library on Friday, May 24 at 4:45 PM. 

HCPL is especially excited to be partnering with the Asia Society Texas Center to present a series of programs at branches across the county by Nina Shimaguchi, visiting Japan Outreach Inititiative Coordinator at the Asia Society. Nina will offering programs on a incredibly wide range of Japanese culture including origami, tea ceremony, calligraphy, pop culture, and picture storytelling.  

Appearances by Nina Shimaguchi for Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

 
Barbara Bush Branch Library
Thursday, May 2
Pop Culture   4:30 PM
Tea Ceremony  6:00 PM
Maud Smith Marks Branch Library
Saturday, May 18
Asia Festival 12 - 4  PM
Octavia Fields Branch Library
Saturday, May 4
Tea Ceremony  2:00 PM
Spring Branch Memorial Branch Library
Monday, May 20
Calligraphy  6:30 PM
Lone Star College - Tomball Community Library
Tuesday, May 7
Calligraphy   4:00 PM
Atascocita Branch Library
Tuesday, May 21
Calligraphy  7:00 PM
Aldine Branch Library
Wednesday, May 8
Japanese Games 4:00 PM
West University Branch Library
Thursday, May 23
Tea Ceremony 10:00 AM
Maud Smith MarksBranch Library
Thursday, May 9
Chopsticks   4:30 PM
Fairbanks Branch Library
Saturday, May 25
Kamishibai Storytelling      11:00 AM
High Meadows Branch Library
Monday, May 13
Pop Culture  4:00 PM
Katy Branch Library
Saturday, May 25
Family Storytelling       2:00 PM
Jacinto City Branch Library
Tuesday, May 14.
Picture Storytelling       11:00 AM
Crosby Branch Library
Tuesday, May 28
Tea Ceremony 2:00 PM
Galena Park Branch Library
Wednesday, May 15
Chopsticks Challenge      4:00 PM
Kingwood Branch Library
Wednesday, May 29
Paper Dyeing 2:30 PM
Northwest Branch Library
Thursday, May 16
Origami   4:45 PM
 

Check your favorite the Events Calendar for details about all these programs and more in celebration of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month