Explore a Universe of Stories with HCPL's Summer Reading 2019!

SRP graphic with a family of astronauts with books

This summer explore a Universe of Stories at HCPL! and celebrate summer, the joys of reading and the upcoming 50th anniversary of the first moon landing!

Summer Reading is for the whole family: HCPL's Summer Reading has goals, incentives and programs for everyone - babies, kids, teens and adults.

 

Register Now!

Summer Reading is not just about reading: Earn points toward incentives by attending library events and doing fun activities. We have a wide range of edutaining programs in the library to spark the imagination and 

Summer Reading is about connection and community: write reviews of the books you read and share them on Beanstack, share your summer reading adventures on Twitter, Facebook & Instagram. Tag us! @harriscountypl #SRP2019 

Summer Reading Highlights and Featured Events

Summer Reading Blast Off Parties - Many HCPL branches host parties to get Summer Reading off to a rollicking

Pick up an
SRP 2019 Calendar
at the library!

start. Register for Summer Reading, pick up a calendar of upcoming events. This year, Harris County Precinct 4 and Commissioner R. Jack Cagle will be hosting a special Summer Reading Kick-Off Party at Burroughs Park in Tomball on Saturday, June 1 from 10 AM - 2 PM.

Build a Space Colony - Kids will learn about space exploration and STEM concepts then put their knowledge and imaginations to work building structures that will protect them from extreme heat, cold, and other world environments using cardboard boxes, styrofoam forms, plastic bottles, fabric, and other materials. These programs are made possible by a NASA @ My Library grant.

Star Parties - In a universe of stories, stars are the stars. Members of the Houston and Space Center Astronomical Societies will set up their telescpopes

STEM - Science, Technology, Engineering & Math have never been so much fun. Highlights include Houston Museum of Natural Science's inflatable planetarium Discovery Dome, coding for kids, Maker @ HCPL programs and a whole lot more!

Books Alive! - From page to stage. Books Alive! presents beloved children's books adapted into original, fully staged musicals. This summer, join us for Helen Lester's Me First

Stratford Branch Library Tue. June 4. 2 PM
LSC-CyFair Branch Library Wed. June 5. 2 PM
West University Branch Library Thu. June 6. 9:45 AM
Galena Park Branch Library Thu. June 6. 2 PM
Maud Smith Marks Branch Library Mon. June 10. 1:30 & 3 PM
Katy Branch Library Tue. June 11. 2:30 PM
Jacinto City Branch Library Wed. June 12. 4 PM
Atascocita Branch Library Tue. June 18. 2:30 PM
High Meadows Branch Library Wed. June 19. 10:30 AM
Octavia Fields Branch Library Wed. June 19. 2 PM

Houston Ballet - Dance to Learn, Ballet Talks and more!

Cinespace presented in partnership with Houston Cinema Arts Society. We will be screening collections of past Cinespace Short Film Contest finalists all summer long in anticipation of a showing of 2019 finalists at Clear Lake City - County Freeman Branch Library in November.

Clear Lake City - County Freeman Branch Library Tue. June 11. 10:30 AM
Clear Lake City - County Freeman Branch Library Fri. June 14. 3:30 PM
Clear Lake City - County Freeman Branch Library Sat. June 15. 10:15 PM
Parker Williams Branch Library Sat. June 15. 2:00 PM
Clear Lake City - County Freeman Branch Library Tue. June 18. 10:30 AM
Barbara Bush Branch Library Sat. June 22. 2:00 PM
La Porte Community Library Mon. June 24. 6:30 PM
Barbara Bush Branch Library Tue. July 2. 7:00 PM
Katherine Tyra Branch Library @ Bear Creek Wed. July 10. 6:30 PM
Atascocita Branch Library Sat. July 27. 3:00 PM
Lone Star College - CyFair Branch Library Tue. 30. 6:00 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Art Camp presented by Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. Art Camp is one of our most popular Summer Reading programs, but space is very limited.

Northwest Branch Library Mon. June 3 - Fri. June 7
Kingwood Branch Library Mon. June 10 - Fri. June 14
Galena Park Branch Library Mon. June 17 - Fri. June 21
Aldine Branch Library Mon. June 24 - Fri. June 28
North Channel Branch Library Mon. July 15 - Fri. July 19
La Porte Branch Library Mon. July 22 - Fri. July 26
Barbara Bush Branch Library Mon. July 29 - Fri. Aug. 2
Katherine Tyra Branch Library Mon. Aug. 5 - Fri. Aug. 9

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wild about Nature! We're bringing the great outdoors indoors at the library
Harris County Precinct 1 Traveling Naturalist - Real live critters and the science that make them so cool
Snakes! Snakes! Snakes! - sssseriously scintilating slitherers!
Jesse H. Jones Park & Nature Center - Learn all about turtles and tortoises, reptiles and amphibians

Kids Café - Because getting the most out of your summer takes energy, HCPL has partnered with Houston Food Bank to offer free, nutritious meals to children and their caregivers every weekday during Summer Reading at these branch libraries:

Aldine  Galena Park  North Channel 
Baldwin Boettcher  High Meadows  Northwest 
Barbara Bush  Jacinto City  Octavia Fields 
Crosby - Edith Fae Cook Cole  Katherine Tyra  @ Bear Creek South Houston 
Fairbanks  Katy Stratford*
Freeman  La Porte   

*Meals provided by Goose Creek CISD

Sure, HCPL's Summer Reading Program was originally created to help combat the dreaded summer slide (the tendency for children over the long summer break to lose some of the reading skills they gained during the school year). But, summer at HCPL is about a lot more than reading. It's about getting the most out of every minute of your summer. Join us!