National Book Award Winners Announced!

books stacked by colorEach year the National Book Foundation honors literary excellence with the National Book Award. An independent panel of published authors chooses which books of the past year to honor with this prestigious award. This year the judges for the Young People’s Literature category were Laban Carrick Hill, Kelly Link, Tor Seidler, Hope Anita Smith, and Sara Zarr. Check out what Sara Zarr had to say about her experience working as a judge. The winner and finalists of the Young People’s Literature category are below. Which have you read? What do you think should have been honored?

Young People’s Literature

mockingbird bookjacketship breaker bookjacketdark water bookjacketlockdown bookjacketone crazy summer bookjacket





Flickr CC: Book-color Histogram Photo by: Patrick Gage