Rebecca Stead Wins Newbery Medal


Then John Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.  When You Reach Me written by Rebecca Stead is the 2010 Newbery Medal winner. 


Four Newbery Honor Books were also named: 

Claudette Colvin:  Twice Toward Justice

by Phillip Hoose,

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate

by Jacqueline Kelly,

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

by Grace Lin and

The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg

by Rodman Philbrick.


List of the Winners of all Children's Book Awards announced by the American Library Association on January 18, 2010.