Texas Bluebonnet Winner announced!


With 15,189 votes, this year's Texas Bluebonnet Award goes to Postcards From Camp by Simms Taback. The book presents a series of postcards and letters exchanged by a father and his young son, who is at first a very reluctant summer camper. This book was inspired by the postcards that Taback sent his own daughter while she was at summer camp 20 years ago (and saved).

Taback won the Caldecott Medal — given for the best-illustrated children's book of the year — for "Joseph Had a Little Overcoat" in 2000 and in 1998 won a Caldecott Honor (Caldecott Medal runner-up) for "There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly." Simms Taback was also the designer of the prototype for the first McDonald's "Happy Meals." Unfortunately, Mr. Taback died on Christmas day 2011.

 The first and second runners-up for the Bluebonnet award are Zita the Spacegirl with 14,612 votes and Just being Audrey with 12,568 votes.