Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given every year (since 2006) to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the best beginning reader book published in the United States during the preceding year.

This year's winner is The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli.

Honor books are:

A Big Guy Took My Ball! by Mo Willems

Ball by Mary Sullivan

Penny and her Marble by Kevin Henkes