Home School StuffSurf the NetAbout the LibraryKids Catalog
Fun and GamesKids ReadParents and TeachersHoustonHome

Biography

Anthropology | Artists | Authors & Illustrators

Composers | Explorers | Inventors | Presidents

Scientists | Women | Texans

General

Biographical Dictionary-http://www.s9.com/biography/
Over 28,000 short biographies on people from ancient times to the present.

Biography Center-http://www.biography-center.com//
Links to biographies of thousands of people.

Infoplease Biography-http://www.infoplease.com/people.html
Short biographies from Infoplease Almanac online.

Lives-http://amillionlives.com/
Links to biographies of people who have died.

Colonial Hall-http://www.colonialhall.com/
Biographies of America's founders including the signers of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution.

Amazing Americans-http://www.americaslibrary.gov/cgi-bin/page.cgi/aa
A variety of Americans who made this country what it is today.

AFRO-American Almanac-http://www.toptags.com/aama/bio/bio.htm
Famous African American men and women.

Hispanic Heritage-http://www.galegroup.com/free_resources/chh/bio/index.htm
Biographies of famous Hispanics.

Anthropology

Anthropology Biography-http://emuseum.mankato.msus.edu/information/biography/
Biographies of people who influenced anthropology.

Artists

Web Gallery of Art-http://www.kfki.hu/~arthp/index1.html
Artist Index has short biography of artists and photos of several of their works.

Authors & Illustrators

Authors & Illustrators on the Web-http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/authors.html
The websites of children's book authors and illustrators.

Composers

Dictionary of Composers-http://www.stevenestrella.com/composers/
Facts about composers plus links to more information.

Explorers

Explorers on the Web-http://cybersleuth-kids.com/sleuth/History/Explorers/
Links to websites on several famous explorers.

Inventors

Inventors-http://inventors.about.com/
Inventors and inventions with special lists of Black, Canadian, and Women inventors.

Hall of Fame-http://www.invent.org/hall_of_fame/1_1_search.asp
Information on inventors in the National Inventors Hall of Fame.

Presidents

Presidents of the United States-http://www.ipl.org/div/potus/
Extensive information on each president with links; some contain audio and video.

Presidents-http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/presidents/index.html
Information on the presidents from the Whitehouse site.

Scientists

African Americans in Science-http://www.princeton.edu/~mcbrown/display/faces.html
Biographies of African Americans in the field of science.

4000 Years of Women in Science-http://www.astr.ua.edu/4000WS/
Biographies of women in science, some are very brief.

Women

Distinguished Women-http://distinguishedwomen.com/index.html
Biographies of women, seachable by name or by field.

Great Women-http://www.greatwomen.org/
National Women's Hall of Fame.

First Ladies-http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/firstladies/
Biographies of the First Ladies on the Whitehouse site.

Texans

Famous Texans-http://www.famoustexans.com/
Short biographies of famous Texans from all fields.