Home School StuffSurf the NetAbout the LibraryKids Catalog
Fun and GamesKids ReadParents and TeachersHoustonHome

History

Ancient History | African American History | American History | Civil War
Native American History | Today in History | Women's History
World War I | World War II

General History

History for Kids-http://www.historyforkids.org/
History searchable by time, place, or topic.

History Channel-http://www.historychannel.com/
Online exhibits, this day in History, listen to speeches from History.

Eyewitness-http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/
Experience history from the Ancient World to the 20th Century.

Rulers-http://rulers.org/
View the rulers of each country.

Ancient History

Ancient Greek World-http://www.museum.upenn.edu/Greek_World/
Life in Ancient Greece.

Winged Sandals-http://abc.net.au/arts/wingedsandals/default_lowband.htm

Learn about the gods, monsters and mortals of Greek Mythology.

Ancient Egypt Site-http://www.ancient-egypt.org/
History of Ancient Egypt.

The Mummy Tombs-http://www.mummytombs.com/
Mummy information, museums, projects, and more.

African American History

African American Mosaic-http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/african/intro.html
Online exhibit of Black History and culture from the Library of Congress.

Africans in America-http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aia/home.html
PBS narrative on slavery in America from 1450-1865.

Harlem-http://www.si.umich.edu/CHICO/Harlem/
An exhibit of the 1900-1940 African-American community.

Aboard the Underground Railroad-ttp://www.cr.nps.gov/nr/travel/underground/
Links to Historic Places associated with the Underground Railroad.

Underground Railroad-http://www.nationalgeographic.com/features/99/railroad/
National Geographic presents this interacative journey along the Underground Railroad.

American History

Mayflower History-http://www.mayflowerhistory.com/
The Mayflower including passenger list, pilgrims, and the Plymouth Colony

American Memory-http://memory.loc.gov/
Over 7 million digital items from maps and photos to audio and video.

America's Story-http://www.americaslibrary.gov/cgi-bin/page.cgi
American History from Colonial Times to the present.

Colonial Hall-http://www.colonialhall.com/
Biographies of the founding fathers including the signers of the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.

Colonial Williamsburg-http://www.history.org/
Life in 18th century America.

Lewis and Clark-http://www.pbs.org/lewisandclark/
The Lewis and Clark expedition from the PBS series.

Oregon Trail-http://www.isu.edu/~trinmich/Oregontrail.html
Facts, maps, historic sites of the Oregon Trail, includes audio.

The Gold Rush-http://www.isu.edu/%7Etrinmich/home.html
Guide to the California Gold Rush.

Prohibition-http://prohibition.history.ohio-state.edu/
History of prohibition in the United States.

US Historical Documents-http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/
Text of Historical documents from pre-colonial times to the present including speeches.

US Historical Documents Archive-http://www.ushda.org/
Documents from pre-17th Century to present day, also speeches and songs.

The West-http://www.pbs.org/weta/thewest/
Based on the PBS show, The West--people, places, and events.

Civil War

American Civil War Homepage-http://sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war/warweb.html
Extensive coverage of the Civil War through links organized by topic.

American Civil War.com-http://americancivilwar.com/civil.html
Statistics, maps, people, and battles.

Camp Life-http://www.cr.nps.gov/museum/exhibits/gettex/
An exhibit of the daily life of a soldier in the Civil War.

Civil War Homepage-http://www.civil-war.net/
Photos, battle reports, letters and more.

Civil War Photographs-http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/cwphtml/cwphome.html
Civil War photograph collection from the Library of Congress.

Civil War Women-http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/cwdocs.html
Diaries, letters, photos, and more from women during the Civil War.

Native American History

Native Americans Resource-http://marilee.us/nativeamericans.html
Information and links about several tribes; plus recipes, songs, and legends.

Native American Sites-http://www.nativeculture.com/lisamitten/indians.html
Collection of links to Native American Nations, organizations, and more.

Today in History

On This Day-http://www.nytimes.com/learning/general/onthisday/
From the New York Times.

This Day in History-http://www.historychannel.com/tdih/
From the History Channel.

Those Were the Days-http://www.440.com/twtd/today.html
Events, birthdays, and chart topping songs.

Today in History-http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/today/today.html
From the Library of Congress.

Women's History

American Women's History-http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html
Resource guide of links to Women's History on the web.

National Women's History Project-http://www.nwhp.org/
Links to sites with history and biographies of women.

World War I

First World War-http://www.firstworldwar.com/
Comprehensive coverage of World War I.

Great War-http://www.pbs.org/greatwar/
Based on the PBS Great War series.

World War II

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum-http://www.ushmm.org/
Online exhibits, personal histories and more. Also in Spanish. En Espanol.

World War II Timeline-http://history.acusd.edu/gen/WW2Timeline/start.html
Search by date or topic.

Pearl Harbor-http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/pearlharbor/
National Geographic remembers Pearl Harbor.