Main Street Morning Brew

Clipart of coffee cup from Jupterimages CorporationAll La Porte business and property owners are welcome to attend a Main Street Morning Brew presentation on Marketing in the 21st Century that will be held on Wednesday, August 29, 2012, 8:30 – 9:30 a.m. at Becky’s Ceramics Studio, 100 West Main Street, La Porte. This program is provided free of charge by the City of La Porte and will show “how technology and social media can help you reach your key customers and stay connected with them on a regular basis.” Coffee and light refreshments will be served. For more information, call 281-470-5017 or email

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation. 

BookLetters Newsletters

Did you know that you can have newsletters with the latest information about forthcoming books delivered right to your email? Through BookLetters Newsletters you can be informed about your favorite genre: romance, mystery, westerns or more. You can also sign up for newsletters about children's and teen's books. Follow this link and sign up for any or all.

Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation

Another Terrific Summer in the Books

Another summer full of entertaining and educational crafts and programming has come to a close. We want to give a big thank you to the Friends of La Porte Library for their financial support for all our summer activities. These dedicated people give of themselves weekly to ready the donated books for sale.
With budgets as stretched as they are, it is the Friends membership dues, donations, and book sales that allow us to provide a richer summer for all our children and teens.

Focus on Nora Roberts

Photograph of Book Display of Nora Roberts' Read-AlikesOn the opposite side of the Nicholas Sparks display described previously we have a display of books that have similarities to Nora Roberts. If you like the writing of Nora Roberts, you may like to try Elizabeth Adler, Lisa Gardner, Kay Hooper, Linda Howard, Iris Johansen, Jayne Ann Krentz, Karen Robards, or Katherine Stone.

Read-alikes for Nicholas Sparks

Photograph of Book Display with Nicholas Sparks ReadalikesThe Book Display in Adult Fiction is featuring authors whose books have similar elements to the writing of Nicholas Sparks, such as Luanne Rice, Richard Paul Evans, Karen Kingsbury, and Jeffrey Stepakoff. If you like Nicholas Sparks, you may also like these other authors.