The James Tiptree Award

The James Tiptree Award is awarded annually for science fiction and fantasy that explores and expands gender. It is named in honor of Alice B. Sheldon who wrote under the pseudonym James Tiptree, Jr.
Award Year Authors(s) Title
2011 Andrea Hairston Redwood and Wildfire
2010 Dubravka Ugresic Baba Yaga Laid an Egg Three modern variations on the Slavic Baba Yaga legend.
2009 Greer Gilman Cloud and Ashes: Three Winter's Tales Cloud & Ashes collects three Winter's Tales ("Jack Daw's Pack," "A Crowd of Bone," and the longest, "Unleaving") centering on folk traditions, harvest rites, the seasons, gods, and trickster figures.
2009 Fumi Yoshinaga Ooku: The Inner Chambers, Volumes 1 & 2
2008 Patrick Ness The Knife of Never Letting Go Pursued by power-hungry Prentiss and mad minister Aaron, young Todd and Viola set out across New World searching for answers about his colony's true past and seeking a way to warn the ship bringing hopeful settlers from Old World.
2008 Nisi Shawl Filter House
2006 Sarah Hall Daughters of the North In her stunning novel, Hall imagines a new dystopia set in the not-too-distant future. England is in a state of environmental crisis and economic collapse. There has been a census, and all citizens have been herded into urban centers. Reproduction has become a lottery, with contraceptive coils fitted to every female of childbearing age. A girl who will become known only as "Sister" escapes the confines of her repressive marriage to find an isolated group of women living as "un-officials" in Carhullan, a remote northern farm, where she must find out whether she has it in herself to become a rebel fighter. Provocative and timely, Daughters of the North poses questions about the lengths women will go to resist their oppressors, and under what circumstances might an ordinary person become a terrorist.
2006 Shelley Jackson Half Life In the tradition of Middlesex and Geek Love comes a stylish, fascinating, and sometimes disturbing first novel about one Siamese twin's plot to kill the other, written by a spectacularly cool and well-connected author.
2005 Geoff Ryman Air: Or, Have Not Have A young woman named Mae must prepare her village for the arrival of technology gone wrong. Will they believe her before it's too late?
2004 Joe Haldeman Camouflage The artifact is found seven miles below the surface of the sea and beneath forty more feet of sand. The Navy's efforts to raise a wrecked submarine uncover it - and set in motion a scientific race to retrieve it, to discover just what it is and where it came from. Denser than any substance known to man, it has broken every drill bit they've tried on it and will not budge an inch. It resists every effort to breach it - or communicate with it. So the governmenet turns to marine biologist Russell Sutton for help.
2004 Johanna Sinisalo Not Before Sundown
2003 Matt Ruff Set This House in Order: A Romance of Souls Andrew Gage, 28, is trying to live a normal, stable life as a multiple personality. One day Andrew meets Penny Driver, who is also multiple, but doesn't know it yet. When a couple of Penny's other personalities try to enlist Andrew's aid, they set in motion a chain of events that threatens to bring Andrew's "house" crashing down.
2002 M. John Harrison Light In M. John Harrison’s novel, Light, three quantum outlaws face a universe of their own creation, a universe where you make up the rules as you go along and break them just as fast, where there’s only one thing more mysterious than darkness.
2002 John Kessel "Stories for Men" in Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine
2001 Hiromi Goto The Kappa Child In a family not at all reminiscent of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie, four Japanese-Canadian sisters struggle to escape the bonds of a family and landscape as inhospitable as the sweltering prairie heat. Their father, moved by an incredible dream of optimism, decides to migrate from the lush green fields of British Columbia to Alberta. There, he is determined to deny the hard-pan limitations of the prairie and to grow rice. Despite a dearth of both water and love, the family discovers, through sorrow and fear, the green kiss of the Kappa Child, a mythical creature who blesses those who can imagine its magic...
2000 Molly Gloss Wild Life A free-thinking, fiercely independent writer of women's adventure stories finds herself in a mysterious world that challenges her concept of reality, after she agrees to join a search party for a missing child who has disappeared in the Great Northwest Woods.
1999 Suzy McKee Charnas The Conqueror's Child
1998 Raphael Carter "Congenital Agenesis of Gender Ideation" in Starlight 2
1997 Candas Jane Dorsey Black Wine Why is there an old woman, in a hanging cage for punishment, keeping a journal written in blood? Candas Jane Dorsey has written an ambitious, feminist novel about women coming to terms with their identity in a barbarous fantasy world. Dorsey's women travel across the world, from the slave dens to the merchant cities, across seas by ship and by dirigible, to isolated mountain villages and back again.
1997 Kelly Link "Travels With the Snow Queen" in Stranger Things Have Happened
1996 Mary Doria Russell The Sparrow Father Emilio Sandoz, a Jesuit linguist whose messianic virtues hide his occasional doubt about his calling. The mystery is the climactic turn of events that has left him the sole survivor of a secret Jesuit expedition to the planet Rakhat and, upon his return, made him a disgrace to his faith.
1995 Ursula K. Le Guin "Mountain Ways" in The Birthday of the World and Other Stories Mountain Ways is about a society which is based on complex marriage relationships comprising four people.
1995 Elizabeth Hand Waking the Moon A college student discovers that every institution in the world is controlled by an evil clandestine order called the Benandanti. Now, after thousands of years of patriarchal rule, the time of the Benandanti is over. The vengeful Moon Goodess has awakened, and she wants her world back.
1995 Theodore Roszak The Memoirs of Elizabeth Frankenstein The story of Victor Frankenstein, his quest for forbidden knowledge, and his creation of the Creature is told through the voice of Elizabeth, Victor's doomed fiancee, in a candid, passionate retelling of Shelley's classic.
1994 Ursula K. Le Guin "The Matter of Seggri" in The Birthday of the World and Other Stories "The Matter of Seggri" takes place on a planet where women greatly outnumber men.
1994 Nancy Springer "Larque on the Wing"
1993 Nicola Griffith Ammonite
1992 Maureen F. McHugh China Mountain Zhang
1991 Eleanor Arnason A Woman of the Iron People Li Lixia is one of eight field anthropologists set down on Sigma Draconis II after the first starship from Earth detects pre-industrial intelligent life there. She experiences several of the cultures of the humanoid people of the planet as she travels with Nia, a female exile of the Iron People.
1991 Gwyneth Jones White Queen