Science Fiction

British Football and Magic in London Falling

In Paul Cornell's first urban fantasy novel London Falling four police officers infiltrating a powerful drug lord's gang come in contact with an artifact which gives them The Sight. They begin to see ghosts, demons and various oddities that seem to be invisible to everyone else. As Inspector Quill and his team deepen their investigation, they discover the drug lord (Toshack's) connection to a legend about the West Ham football team.

A Host of Summer Awards

Here are the winners of some of this year's Science Fiction and Fantasy Awards.

2012 Nebula Award - Best Novel

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson





2012 Aurealis Award - Science Fiction Novel

The Rook by Daniel O'Malley

Fade to Black by Francis Knight

Mahala, a city built up not out, with a complex society run by a ruling elite from the bright upper levels while the darkness of the Under hides outlaws and forbidden secrets. Secrets such as the fact that bounty hunter/people finder Rojan Dizon is a pain mage and can draw magic from inflicting pain upon himself.

Wool Omnibus by Hugh Howey

“Thousands of them have lived underground. They've lived there so long, there are only legends about people living anywhere else. Such a life requires rules. Strict rules. There are things that must not be discussed. Like going outside. Never mention you might like going outside.

Or you'll get what you wish for.”

Sheltered in underground silos to protect them from the toxic outside environment, people go their whole life without seeing the surface. Except for the cleaners, who mysteriously walk away after their task, to die.

Rapture of the Nerds

Rapture of the Nerds, co-authored by Cory Doctorow and Charles Stross, is set at the end of the 21st century in a very different Earth where the post-singularity

Blood of Dragons (Rain Wilds Chronicles - Book 4)

Robin Hobb's final book in the Rain Wilds Chronicles finds the dragons and their keepers on a quest to locate the lost city of Kelsingra where they must uncover the mythical silver wells that the dragons need for survival.

Can Tintaglia and the Elderlings unlock the secrets of the ancient city, or are they doomed to extinction?


If you haven't read the rest of the series, here are the first three books:

Ever After (Hollows Book 11) by Kim Harrison

The demonic realm, the ever-after, is shrinking and if it disappears, so does magic.  And it happens that it is witch and day-walking demon Rachel Morgan's fault.

After causing a rip in the ley line a chain of events was set off that could cause a world apocalypse. Rachel must find a way to save the people she cares about, keep the balance between the human and demon worlds, and oh, and if she fails, her life is forfeit.

2013 Prometheus Finalists Selected

The five 2013 Prometheus finalists for Best Novel Award have been selected by the Libertarian Futurist Society. The award will be presented at the 2013 World Science Fiction Convention August 29 - September 2, 2013 in San Antonio, Texas. The finalists are:

Wheel of Time Rolls to a Stop

If you are a fan of Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, it has finally come to conclusion with book number fourteen: A Memory of Light.  The series was finished posthumously by Brandon Sanderson, who took over the series from book twelve.

An Author Recommends: George R.R. Martin

Recently, author George R. R. Martin posted "Reading Recommendations" on his blog.  While there are many of these you can find at HCPL, for your convenience, here are a few of his suggestions! 

Of the Classics suggestions:

Syndicate content