Science Fiction

2012 Tayshas Spotlight: Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror!

The Crow & The Moon [Explored] by Dave Morrow's Custom CreationsThe Tayshas Reading List for 2012 was recently released and there are some great titles this year! The TAYSHAS Reading List promotes recreational reading for teens in 9th – 12th grades. Check out some of these great fantasy, horror, and science fiction reads or the entire 2012 Reading List

flip bookjacket

Anne McCaffrey: 1926-2011

 Anne McCaffrey passed away at the age of 85 on November 21, 2011.  Read her biography here.  I had the honor of meeting her briefly several years ago.  She was a grand dame of Science Fiction and a gutsy lady.  Many of her books are carried by HCPL for any who would like to visit (or revisit) PERN or many of her other wonderful stories. 

Brandon Sanderson in Houston!

Fans of The Mistborn Trilogy, Wheel of Time series, the Stormlight Archive series (book one The Way of Kings), don't miss your chance to meet author Brandon Sanderson who will be at Murder By The Book on November 15 for book signings.  And don't miss out on his latest book set in the Mistborn world three hundred years after the trilogy events, The Alloy of Law.

Star Trek 45th Anniversary

On September 8, 1966, the first episode of Star Trek aired on NBC.  It ran for three seasons, but from boldly going where no television had gone before, came a franchise that has endured decades.  It also has a healthy collection of books that further explore the lives of the characters from all Star Trek series.  If you're looking for a new adventure, trek on over to the library and pick up a few Star Trek titles.

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees Announced

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees have been announced.  The nominations are gathered from attendees to the convention, and then voted on by a panel of judges.  Best Novel nominees are:

Check Out NPR Poll: Best SF Books

National Public Radio (NPR) is running a poll over the next few weeks in order to create a list of the top 100 SF/F titles ever written.  Go to their post here to read their guidelines and add your top five!

My top five?

Reprise of Speculative Fiction

Recently the Wall Street Journal pointed out it was The Season of the Supernatural.  In the article, they talk about the rise of literature that blends supernatural with realism, and that it may once again become the predominant literary style. 

The Doorstoppers

I'm not advocating the use of books as doorstops or following the design trend of using them for table legs. Unless, I suppose, that you're a fan of the game Jenga®, and you are willing to shift some of these hefty tomes around when you want to revisit a favorite.

Song of Ice and Fire next book publication date set!

There's good news on the web and the inky streets of the SF world.  George R.R. Martin announces the publication date for the next in Song of Ice and Fire.

Top Circulated SF Titles of 2010

Speculative Fiction titles published in late 2009 and 2010 that circulated the most in the Harris County Public Library system will probably seem pretty familiar--at least in authors and worlds.  Star Wars still holds sway over fans, and it seems Jim Butcher cannot fail as he appears twice on the list.  The Top Ten Circulating SF Titles are as follows:

 

Syndicate content