Fantasy

Game of Thrones

game of thrones mapLast year, HBO premiered Game of Thrones, a new television series based on George R. R. Martin’s high fantasy series A Song of Fire and Ice. After a slow start, the show swept the fantasy world, garnering praise from critics and fans alike. This Sunday, Game of Thrones returns with its highly anticipated second season. I, for one, have been counting down for months, excited to see where the series leads. (I know, I know. If I had read the novels in the break between seasons, I wouldn’t be so anxious about what’s in store for the characters I love and loathe.

New Science Fiction & Fantasy Reads for Teens

Steampunk Clockwork Spider Brass and Copper Wire Sculpture by Catherinette Rings SteampunkWhether you’re already an avid Sci-Fi/Fantasy reader or you’re new to the genres, you might consider looking for one of these books that have just come out or are new to our shelves.  What do you recommend?
 

New Science Fiction & Fantasy Reads for Teens

illuminate

Memory of Light publication date announced

Tor has announced the release date for the final novel in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series.  A Memory of Light will release on January 8, 2013.   The series has been completed by acclaimed writer Brandon Sanderson.  Read more at the Tor.com website.

2012 Tayshas Spotlight: Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror!

The Crow & The Moon [Explored] by Dave Morrow's Custom CreationsThe Tayshas Reading List for 2012 was recently released and there are some great titles this year! The TAYSHAS Reading List promotes recreational reading for teens in 9th – 12th grades. Check out some of these great fantasy, horror, and science fiction reads or the entire 2012 Reading List

flip bookjacket

Anne McCaffrey: 1926-2011

 Anne McCaffrey passed away at the age of 85 on November 21, 2011.  Read her biography here.  I had the honor of meeting her briefly several years ago.  She was a grand dame of Science Fiction and a gutsy lady.  Many of her books are carried by HCPL for any who would like to visit (or revisit) PERN or many of her other wonderful stories. 

Brandon Sanderson in Houston!

Fans of The Mistborn Trilogy, Wheel of Time series, the Stormlight Archive series (book one The Way of Kings), don't miss your chance to meet author Brandon Sanderson who will be at Murder By The Book on November 15 for book signings.  And don't miss out on his latest book set in the Mistborn world three hundred years after the trilogy events, The Alloy of Law.

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees Announced

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees have been announced.  The nominations are gathered from attendees to the convention, and then voted on by a panel of judges.  Best Novel nominees are:

Check Out NPR Poll: Best SF Books

National Public Radio (NPR) is running a poll over the next few weeks in order to create a list of the top 100 SF/F titles ever written.  Go to their post here to read their guidelines and add your top five!

My top five?

Reprise of Speculative Fiction

Recently the Wall Street Journal pointed out it was The Season of the Supernatural.  In the article, they talk about the rise of literature that blends supernatural with realism, and that it may once again become the predominant literary style. 

New Fantasy Reads for Teens

Dragon by munktOnThe Teen Summer Reading Program begins tomorrow!  What better way to start your summer than to pick up some books that have just come out or are new to our shelves.  Below is a list of some new teen fantasy fiction and a couple of new adult fantasy titles that might appeal to teen readers.  What do you recommend?

Syndicate content